ZCS Administrator Guide 8.0
ZCS Administrator Guide 8.0
Network Edition

Monitoring ZCS Servers > Logging Levels

Logging Levels
The default logging level is set to include logs that are generated for INFO, WARNING, ERROR and FATAL. When problems start to occur, you can turn on the DEBUG or TRACE log levels.
To change the logging levels, edit the log4j properties, log4j properties, log4j.logger.zimbra.
When enabling DEBUG, you can specify a specific category to debug. For example, to see debug details for POP activity, you would type logger.zimbra.pop=DEBUG.
The following categories are predefined in log4j:
Changes to the log level take affect immediately.
Logging Levels
Table 1:  
Designates very severe error events that the application to abort or impact a large number of users. For example, being unable to contact the MySQL database.
Designates error events that might still allow the application to continue running or impact a single user. For example, a single mailbox having a corrupt index or being unable to delete a message from a mailbox.
Designates potentially harmful situations but are usually recoverable or can be ignored. For example, user log in failed.
Designates information messages that highlight the progress of the application, basic transaction-level logging. For example, server start-ups, mailbox creation/deletion, account creation.
Events that would generally be useful to help a customer debug problems.
Copyright © 2012 VMware Inc.