Sharing Your Items

What is sharing?

How do I share my calendar?

How do I revoke sharing on a calendar?

How do I accept an invitation to share a calendar?

How do I access a calendar that someone shares with me?

 

What is sharing?


Sharing is the ability to grant another user access to one or more of your calendars. For example:

•  You can give a coworker View permission to a project calendar that you maintain. In this case, your coworker will see your shared calendar in his or her own Calendar view. Whenever you schedule an appointment or meeting on the shared calendar, your coworker will see the appointment or meeting.

•  You can also give a coworker Manager permission to your account. In this case, your coworker will be able to do the following with the shared calendar:

•  View meetings and appointments

•  Schedule meetings and appointments

•  Accept and decline meeting invitations

•  Edit and delete meetings and appointments

 

How do I share my calendar?


You can share your calendar with the following:

•  Internal users or groups.  You select the type of privileges to grant, either:

•  Viewer. The Grantee can see the activities posted to your calendar and the status of meeting requests, but cannot make any changes to your calendar.

•  Manager. The Grantee has full permission to create meetings, accept or decline invitations, and edit and delete activities from your calendar.

•  None is an option to temporarily disable access to a grantor's shared calendar without revoking the share privileges. The Grantee still has the calendar in their calendar list but cannot view or manage activities on the grantor's shared calendar.

•  External guests. You create a password to access the shared calendar. Guests must enter this password to view the calendar. They cannot make changes to the calendar.

•  Public. Anyone who knows the URL to the shared calendar can view it. They cannot make any changes to the calendar.

Click here for a demonstration of How do I share my calendar?

To share a calendar:

1. Click the Calendar tab.

2. Right-click on the calendar you want to share and select Share Calendar.

 

The Share Properties dialog appears.

 

3. Select a Share with option using the radio buttons.

•  Internal users or groups. Choose addresses from the list that appears as you type or type addresses that are not in the list. The user or group must be a valid address in your company's mail directory.

•  External guests. Enter the guest email address(es), and enter the password that users must enter to view your calendar.

•  Public. Anyone who has the URL can access your calendar. No password is required.

4. Type the email address(es) for the user with whom you want to share in the Email field. You can enter more than one address in the Email field, using a semi-colon (;) between addresses.

5. Select the access permissions in the Role area.

6. Select which type of message to send in the Message area. This message will be sent to each address you typed into the Email field.

 

The Message options are:

•  Do not send mail about this share. No notification message is sent.

•  Send standard message. The standard share notification message is sent to the email address(es).  

•  Add a note to standard message. You can add additional information to the standard message.

•  Compose email in new window. Opens the notification message in a separate compose window.

7. Click OK.

 

How do I revoke sharing on a calendar?


You can revoke sharing on a calendar for a user at any time, and you can also edit a user's permissions to your calendar at any time.

To revoke sharing or edit permissions:

1. Right-click a shared calendar, and select Edit Properties.

 

The Folders Properties dialog appears, showing a list of users who share the folder (calendar).

 

2. Click any of the available links in the Sharing for this folder area:

•  Edit to change permissions. The Share Properties dialog appears for you to change the user's permissions to the calendar.

 

•  Revoke to remove permissions. The Revoke Share dialog appears, so you can revoke the access for the calendar.

 

•  Resend to resend the invitation to share the calendar.

3. Click OK.

 

 

How do I accept an invitation to share a calendar?

When someone shares a calendar with you, you receive an email message like that shown below.

 

The email message lists the name of the shared calendar (Shared Item), the calendar owner, your role, and your allowed actions.

 

To accept access to a shared calendar:

1. Click Accept Share at the top of the email. The Accept Share dialog opens and describes the role granted to you.

 

2. Customize the calendar name and select a color for the shared calendar.

3. Select an option from the send mail menu if you want to send a confirmation back to the Grantor. (optional)

3. Click Yes. The new shared calendar is added to your Calendar list. The message is moved to your Trash folder.

 

To decline access to a shared calendar:

1. Click Decline Share at the top of the email. The Decline Share dialog opens with a confirmation message.

 

2. Select an option from the send mail menu if you want to send a confirmation back to the Grantor. (optional)

3. Click Yes. The message is moved to your Trash folder.

 

 

How do I access a calendar that someone shares with me?


Calendars another user shares with you are displayed in your Calendar view, just like one of your own calendars.

To access the shared calendar, click its select box in the Calendar view. All appointments and meetings on the shared calendar are displayed.

If you have Manager permissions to the shared calendar, you can schedule appointments and meetings on the shared calendar using the standard steps. Refer to the Scheduling Appointments and Meetings topics for more information about scheduling appointments and meetings.