Thread: Using Zimlets with XSLT

jmnielsen is offline New Member

Default Using Zimlets with XSLT

Hello all,

I am new to zimlets and I'm doing a little preliminary investigation of what would be involved in using them. Our department is considering using zimlets in the future, and I happen to have a little knowledge with using XSLT and I wanted to learn more about how it could potentially be used with zimlets. From what I've read zimlets are xml-based (or at least use xml) and can communicate using SOAP. I guess my basic question is how it might be possible to manipulate or control the way zimlets behave by using XSLT to format the XML content. Is there any documention on this at all? I have searched for articles about zimlets and XSLT and discovered almost nothing. Do you have any recommendations on where I can look or what I should look at/for to familiarize myself with the basics of zimlets and possible applications with XSLT? Any responses or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Josh
    Last edited by jmnielsen; 03-25-2009 at 01:38 PM.

Is there a moderator or anyone sufficiently knowledgeable about this topic to even point me in the correct direction? Doing a few topic searches I saw that some people were coupling together .xml files (possibly from a SOAP response) and a custom defined .xsl file to make a useful transformation of the xml. How much of this is necessary and intrinsic to developing custom zimlets? If not necessary how may it be incorporated? Even one specific example would do.

P.S. Some other topics here that mentioned using XSL: Help with First Zimlet (seems to be defining custom xml and xsl files), SOAP and XSLT, and Custom zimlet XML parsing error. In line with those topics, what is the relevance for using .xsl files with XML or SOAP in Zimlets (i.e. what were they using them for, and what else can the be used for)?

Thanks,

Josh

rrao is offline Zimbra Employee

Quote Originally Posted by jmnielsen View Post