Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Zimlet - Lessons Learned + Help with Tooltips

java_macchiato is offline Intermediate Member

Default First Zimlet - Lessons Learned + Help with Tooltips

Just finished my first Zimlet for a project and I wanted to share some experiences and some Gotcha's I discovered. While Zimbra is a nice product, the Zimlet creation process is, how shall I say, not very pleasant. I've been a professional developer for many years and have worked with all kinds of API's and on all kinds of projects. If Zimbra wants to see people developing Zimlets that are more than just toys, a couple things are critical:

1. Provide some documentation. Whatever is out there is not even close to sufficient. And half of it is contradictory.

2. Provide a way to test Zimlets in Zimbra that does not require hair pulling. Appending dev=1 is not sufficient (see below) and doing a "zmmailboxdctl restart" and all manner of odd deploying and undeploying a zimlet to try to get the cache to clear just makes you want to poke your eyes out.

3. Don't make changes that breaks existing Zimlets between releases. There is no better way to piss off open source developers than to change you API so it ruins their hard work. Especially if they are undocumented changes.

So, enough with the Rant. Let me share what I did to finally get some buttons added to the Compose Toolbar. I hope this saves somebody some time.

The short answer. This works in the current network version:
    Code:
    Com_My_Zimlet.prototype.init = function () {
    	this._composerCtrl = AjxDispatcher.run("GetComposeController");

if(!this._composerCtrl._toolbar) {
          // initialize the compose controller's toolbar
          this._composerCtrl._initializeToolBar();
        }
        this._toolbar = this._composerCtrl._toolbar;

// Add button to toolbar
        ZmMsg.myLabel = "Does not work anyway";
        ZmMsg.myTooltip = "Would be nice to have";