Thread: Zimbra Outlook Connecter with Zimbra Open Source Edition

RizKhan is offline Intermediate Member

Exclamation Zimbra Outlook Connecter with Zimbra Open Source Edition

Hello everyone,

I am new to Zimbra, I would like to ask that can we use Zimbra Outlook Connecter with Open Source edition of ZCS?

Also which linux do you suggest for single server environment with ZCS open source edition?

Regards
    RizKhan

araucano is offline New Member

I'm running the ZCS Open Souce edition on openSUSE Linux 11.1. Although openSUSE Linux Enterprise is recommended, we forced the installation on our version and it runs without hick-ups. We will be testing the commercial Zimbra Network edition ona testing environment with the same Linux version once we are sure ZCS has been accepted by all our users.

As you need to run Apache with it, you may encountered some conflicgt on port 80. Apache always "listens" to that port. To avoid the conflict we have setup the ZCS to listen to port 81 instead. So far that workaround has caused no issues. We believe that by using a second IP-address (one for Apache and a separate one for ZCS) you may not have to change the default port to 81. However we cannot and will not guarantee it works as we haven't tested it yet. So this comes with no liability on our part.

As far as Outlook Connector is concerned: we do not use it. We have used the PST Import Wizzard to import the relevant PST files from Outlook to the respective Zimbra-accounts. Some large e-mails have not been imported but that was just a few due to the large attachments. We saved those attachments separately where necessary (documents) and that's it. Since then we have discontinued using Outlook and use Zimbra Desktop (both Windows and Linux versions) instead.

Cheers and good luck!

araucano
    Last edited by araucano; 07-29-2010 at 02:37 AM. Reason: Missing answer

Exclamation

Hi araucano