Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Re-sharing a notebook - bug or am I missing something

  1. #1
    peng1can is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    54
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re-sharing a notebook - bug or am I missing something

    Our office is just starting to experiment with the shared notebooks, and one of the first times we used it, we encountered a problem which seems like a bug to me...

    - Our administrative assistant created a notebook, clicked "share notebook", added a bunch of people from our department, and clicked OK. Invitation emails went out as they should.
    - She quickly discovered that she had only granted Viewer permission, so she repeated the process but this time set everyone to be a manager. Invitation emails went out a second time.
    - Users who accepted the second email work fine. Users who accepted the first email are stuck with view-only access. If they try to accept the second invitation, they're told the folder already exists.
    - The admin who shared the notebook can't upgrade the permissions for those users because to her they appear to already have Manager rights.

    The solution for now was to have the users that accepted the first invitation delete the notebook then accept the second invitation. Nonetheless, this seems like a bug if the owner and the recipient see a different set of permissions for the recipient.

    Is there anything I'm missing or should this be opened as a bug?

  2. #2
    Bill Brock is offline Outstanding Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    703
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Instead of upgrading the share, the admin should probably delete the share and recreate it.

    Are the users then linking the shared notebook to their notebook?

  3. #3
    peng1can is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    54
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    There are a handful of ways to work around this, but I still think it's probably a bug if the owner sees one set of permission and the user sees another, yes? Just wanted to be sure I didn't misunderstand how something fundamentally worked.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 5.0.4 is live!
    By mmorse in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-2008, 03:27 PM
  2. Possible Notebook Bug (404 on new window)
    By riogd in forum Administrators
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2008, 01:34 PM
  3. Error sharing notebook
    By hspcd in forum Installation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 07:11 PM
  4. Traslation SVN tree status
    By meikka in forum I18N/L10N - Translations
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 11:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •