Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Users

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2007, 03:51 PM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Default Email to Yahoo/Hotmail failed, Email to GMail passed

Hello all,
I have Zimbra 5.0 RC1 installed on a Fedora 7. I send an email to myself at different addresses within the same To: field, here is the result:
GMail: received email inside inbox
Work Email: received email inside inbox
Yahoo: No email received at all , not even in junk folder
Hotmail: no email received at all, not even in junk folder
I didn't get any bounced messages from Yahoo nor Hotmail.
No email on out-going queue within Zimbra.
I've check the reverse DNS on my server - it is valid that is FQDN.

Previously, without the reverse DNS on the server, Yahoo put the email inside the junk folder. Hotmail doesn't even accept the email at all.

Received: from atlas.alliedexpress.com.au (atlas.alliedexpress.com.au [203.35.205.131]) by mx0.grr.com.au (8.13.1/8.13.1) with ESMTP id lADLobd6021488 for <xxxxx@alliedexpress.com.au>; Wed, 14 Nov 2007 08:50:37 +1100
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1]) by atlas.alliedexpress.com.au (Postfix) with ESMTP id 8AF4F1C802FA for <xxxxx@alliedexpress.com.au>; Wed, 14 Nov 2007 08:09:15 +1100 (EST)

Looking at the email route path, the destination mail server received from a FQDN. Does the first path of the route that has localhost.localdomain matters at all?

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2007, 01:14 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,317
Default

As you can send mail to those two accounts and it gets to one of them then I would think the problem lies at the receiving mail server. Hotmail and Yahoo are the first place to check, I'd suggest you look on their help pages for some info on resolving problem like this. If you are using the 'Identities' feature of Zimbra then check is that you have a 'Reply To' field set in your options.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2007, 10:23 AM
Special Member
 
Posts: 111
Default

Hi,
What output do you get from this command as Zimbra user

zmprov gacf | grep zimbraMtaRestriction

I had a similar problem hotmail and yahoo could not email to our zimbra because we were blocking some blacklists its was sorbs that caused our problem if I remember right.

This is the command I ran to block those lists that did not cause us a problem

zmprov mcf zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_invalid_hostname" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_non_fqdn_hostname" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_non_fqdn_sender" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_rbl_client dnsbl.njabl.org" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_rbl_client sbl.spamhaus.org" zimbraMtaRestriction "reject_rbl_client relays.mail-abuse.org"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2008, 12:13 AM
Member
 
Posts: 12
Default

i has it problem too, i checked log
Jan 9 16:10:05 mail postfix/smtp[8723]: DA1CD6A02EA: to=<***@hotmail.com>, relay=mx1.hotmail.com[65.54.245.8]:25, delay=1.2, delays=0.07/0/0.55/0.57, dsn=2.0.0, status=sent (250 <20080109081003.DA1CD6A02EA@mail.mydomain.com> Queued mail for delivery)
Jan 9 16:10:05 mail postfix/qmgr[3088]: DA1CD6A02EA: removed


what the mean is "Queued mail for delivery" that mean sent?

some time the hotmail can receive,
some time cant and no any log and respone mail.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2008, 07:18 PM
Zimbra Employee
 
Posts: 604
Default

May partially be caused by this issue.
Bug 14469 - Email blocked by Hotmail due to X-SPAM-* Headers Appended (large number of domains with amavis)
__________________
Bugzilla - Wiki - Downloads - Before posting... Search!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2008, 08:24 PM
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Default

hi, this topic was solved?

I have the same problem unique problem, send to hotmail.

The solution in bugzilla not worked.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2008, 04:53 AM
Member
 
Posts: 12
Default

any update?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2008, 08:57 AM
Outstanding Member
 
Posts: 684
Default

Your mail server needs to answer the helo command with what your MX record says. Then their needs to be an A record as well for that FQDN. The helo response will generally be the FQDN you have assigned to your mail server. Then their needs to be a reverse DNS entry for the public IP your mail server is sending from. It usually will work if it is the generic PTR record from your ISP. But it is better to contact your ISP and have them reverse DNS to the FQDN of your mail server.

This is the ideal setup that will produce mail not being rejected. It may still get classified as spam and sent to the junk folder but should not be totally rejected. Any other configuration is likely to be rejected by servers doing DNS checks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.