Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Zimbra have a few questions

tom11011 is offline Member

Default New to Zimbra have a few questions

Hi Group,

I'm new to Zimbra and have a few questions. We are a service provider and have been using Qmail for a long time now. We are looking to move beyond it because of the lack of a web front end other than squirrel mail.

1.) Is the Zimbra Open Source product suited to the service provider customer? We have many customers, each with their own domain.

2.) Do users login with email address or username? I ask because it is possible there are users with potentially the same username under different domains (aka sales@domain1.com and sales@domain2.com) etc..

3.) Besides general LDAP support, is there any other included support/features in the open source version for droid/iphone ?

4.) MS Outlook is supported on the desktop right?

5.) Any shared calendaring functions in the Open source product.

Thanks!

phoenix is online now Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

You caould have got all these answer from the forums and Documentation.

Quote Originally Posted by tom11011 View Post
    1.) Is the Zimbra Open Source product suited to the service provider customer?
    Yes.

We have many customers, each with their own domain.
    You can have as many domains as you like.

2.) Do users login with email address or username? I ask because it is possible there are users with potentially the same username under different domains (aka sales@domain1.com and sales@domain2.com) etc..
    The user name (for the primary domain on your server) and the fulle username@somedomain.com for others - you can also force the primary domain to use that format.

3.) Besides general LDAP support, is there any other included support/features in the open source version for droid/iphone ?
    What the significane of your question about openLDAP? You can use any client that supports IMAP with the open source version.