Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: questions on migration

chr00t is offline Member

Default questions on migration

Hello all, I have Release 7.1.4_GA_2555.UBUNTU10_64 UBUNTU10_64 NETWORK edition. We are currently taking over IT from another company who has an exchange server offsite (not sure of version). I asked them to setup an account for me that has access to all email accounts from the clients domain which they did. I'm planning on using the migration assistant, but I'm not sure what access I will need to their server. They are also asking what protocol I will be using for the transfer. I read your guide and I dont see any of my questions answered. Would greatly appreciate some help as I'm new to zimbra

LowPass is offline Active Member

Hello

This document is preatty straightforward on how to set up a exchange to zimbra migration..
    You will need an account with full administration access to the exchange server, a dedicated MAPI profile and the migration is carried on through MAPI protocol.
    See ya,
    Mike

chr00t is offline Member

Thanks LowPass. The exchange server which is offsite and hosted by the old IT provider has several domains for other customers, so I doubt they will give me full administration access to the exchange server. The account they created has access to all email accounts for the clients domain however. Do you think this will work? I have full admin access to our new local AD domain.

Hello chr00t,

I think it will work, but I've never been in such situation as I always been given full control of the exchange servers when migrating, I suggest you to give a try to the Exchange migration wizard but keep yourself open to a "backup" migration option (like imapsync).
    See ya,
    Mike

chr00t is offline Member

When you say imapsync, are you meaning in the migration wizard, select "MS Exchange IMAP server"?

Hello chr00t,