Thread: [SOLVED] Split Domain / Groupwise 7 to zimbra 6

gimecoffee is offline Intermediate Member

Default [SOLVED] Split Domain / Groupwise 7 to zimbra 6

I like the idea presented in this wiki article
    Split Domain - Zimbra :: Wiki

and I get how to make zimbra the primary but what about doing this with Groupwise(GW) 7 as the secondary that I'm migrating away from. I'd like to make Zimbra my primary mail handler and switch users from the Groupwise 7 server as I'm able over the coarse of a few weeks. I've setup Zimbra to forward all mail to the GW server but once I switch the a user to zimbra, how do I get GW to send mail to a zimbra user (john@example.com) from a user still on the secondary(ralph@example.com? I can't seem find any references to user routing or forwarding for GW.

I've had experience with Postfix and there are docs for Zimbra but I have no experience with GW server and I'm not even sure what this function/feature would be called.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on this?

Thank you
    Rois Cannon

I'd love to have some feedback on this method. I am using it and it appears to be working.

Groupwise 7 (GW) being the primary and Zimbra being secondary during the switch over time period.
    In zimbra -
    All user accounts for the domain are setup
    All user accounts zimbraMailTransport smtp:[GW IP for FQDN]
    Relay MTA for external delivery:[GW IP for FQDN]

In GW -
    * Forward Undeliverable Inbound Messages to Host: [zimbra host name]
    Documents{
    Section 46.1.6 Internet Agent/Configuring Internet Services/Configuring SMTPMIME Services/
    Determining What to Do with Undeliverable Messages
    Novell Doc: GroupWise 7 Administration Guide - Configuring SMTP/MIME Services
    }
    ( Not sure if GW requires a reload for this or not because I'm not the GW admin )

When you are ready to switch a user to the zimbra server -
    In zimbra -
    Set the user zimbraMailTransport lmtp:[zimbra FQDN]:7025 and do a postfix reload