Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Zimbra as internal mailserver with external pop3 retrieval

samuelier is offline Starter Member

Default Zimbra as internal mailserver with external pop3 retrieval

I'm new to Zimbra, and I'm a bit unsure about this setup I'd like to do (to replace an Exchange server):

Lan -- Fw -- Router -- Isp/Dns/Pop3

Lan has a W2k Pdc with a domain called "company", (will have) a standalone Ubuntu server for Zimbra; Fw is a Linux box with IpCop and OpenVpn.
    Clients in the Lan point to the Pdc for Dns resolving, as it's mandatory for Active Directory.
    The company has a domain companyname.com registered to an Isp/Host, that handles the mail, and the Dns too (but they're completely manageable).
    Zimbra will basically have to retrieve mails from individual external pop3 accounts, and make them available to users, but handle internal mails (though they'll look like @externaldomain.com).
    That is.. it won't act as a "full" mailserver.
    I know it'd be easier to just point the Isp Dns mail records to the Zimbra server, but I'd prefer to setup the server this way, "invisible" to the Internet, as it is now with Exchange..
    Every installation guide I've seen deals with Zimbra as a "real" mailserver, so.. what should I do differently? Should I use the internal W2k domain name to setup Zimbra? Should I configure Zimbra with the "external" domain name and pretend it's visible from the outside? Should I just point the clients to it using the internal Ip, not to mess with W2k Dns tables?
    If a user a@companyname.it writes to b@companyname.it, Zimbra will route the mail internally, or will send it all the way out to the Internet and then retrieve it from the Pop3, since that domain is different from the Lan domain?

I hope I wasn't too confusing in this post.. feel free to ask any questions. Thanks for your time.

--
    Samuel
    Last edited by samuelier; 06-02-2007 at 12:08 PM.

phoenix is online now Zimbra Consultant & Moderator