I am on CentOS (v4) with the latest version of zimbra (installed yesterday).
Install went very smooth - very nice integrated product.
The zimbra tool will allow all users of all domains to receive emails with no problems - either via IMAP or POP.
Any user of any domain that sends email to any other user of any other domain also on the same machine is able to send the emails to those people.
Here is the problem - all email that is targeted for another server is put into the Deferred bucket. Retries until it bounces back to the sender.
I don't know if the problem lies in:
1) DNS problem
2) potential firewall from company I rented server from (this is a dedicated server from godaddy.com) I have asked them if they are blocking port 25 - and they have not responded as of yet
3) CentOS settings
4) zimbra settings
Here is my DNS info:
Code:
file: named.conf:
include "/etc/named-turbopanel.conf";
....
file: named-turbopanel.conf:
zone "js-x.com" {
type master;
file "/var/named/forward.js-x.com";
};
....
file: forward.js-x.com:
; zone file for js-x.com
$TTL 86400 ; default TTL for zone
$ORIGIN js-x.com.
@ 3600 IN SOA ns3.js-x.com. root.js-x.com. (
2007052703 ; serial number
86400 ; refresh
3600 ; retry
3600000 ; expire
172800 ; negative
)
www IN A 208.109.162.164
ns3 IN A 208.109.162.164
mail IN A 208.109.162.164
js-x.com. IN MX 10 mail.js-x.com.
js-x.com. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all"
js-x.com. IN A 208.109.162.164
asp IN A 208.109.162.164
consulting IN A 208.109.162.164
contact IN A 208.109.162.164
forums IN A 208.109.162.164
invoices IN A 208.109.162.164
javascript IN A 208.109.162.164
mysql IN A 208.109.162.164
phprt IN A 208.109.162.164
robbs IN A 208.109.162.164
shop IN A 208.109.162.164
sporum IN A 208.109.162.164
164.162.109.208.in-addr.arpa IN A 208.109.162.164
js-x.com. IN NS ns3
ns5 IN A 208.109.162.166
lc1988 IN A 208.109.162.164
js-x.com. IN NS ns5 resolve.conf:
Code:
nameserver 127.0.0.1
#nameserver 216.69.160.1
#nameserver 216.69.160.2
options rotate
etc/hosts:
Code:
#127.0.0.1 ip-208-109-162-164.ip.secureserver.net localhost.secureserver.net localhost.localdomain localhost
127.0.0.1 mail.js-x.com localhost.mail.js-x.com localhost.js-x.com localhost.localdomain localhost
#127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
208.109.162.164 js-x.com mail.js-x.com
208.109.162.166 mysql.js-x.com
example error from /var/log/zimbra:
Code:
May 27 11:15:47 ip-208-109-162-164 postfix/qmgr[2285]: 1CBA5384664: to=, orig_to=, relay=none, delay=119, status=deferred (delivery temporarily suspended: connect to mail.mesh.net[208.46.109.34]: Connection timed out)
I've done much searching through the net and this site and found many stories of not able to send email. i've followed the advice and tried many things. this may have resulted in settings in the files that aren't right - but i'm no worse now
than when i first noticed the problem.
I have noticed that if I do a telnet to some server (port 25) from this server it will not work:
Code:
# telnet mail.mesh.net 25
Trying 208.46.109.34...
telnet: connect to address 208.46.109.34: No route to host
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: No route to host
here is from the iptables:
Code:
/sbin/iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
When mail comes in, I can see in the /var/log/messages that it processes it right up until it should deliver it:
Code:
May 27 10:33:55 ip-208-109-162-164 amavis[380]: (00380-02) Checking: x7vahlSwLhlT [127.0.0.1] ->
May 27 10:33:55 ip-208-109-162-164 amavis[380]: (00380-02) FWD via SMTP: -> , BODY=8BITMIME 250 2.6.0 Ok, id=00380-02, from MTA([127.0.0.1]:10025): 250 Ok: queued as C88CF384650
May 27 10:33:55 ip-208-109-162-164 amavis[380]: (00380-02) Passed CLEAN, LOCAL [127.0.0.1] [208.66.144.10] -> , Message-ID: <200705271034.36431.user@js-x.com>, mail_id: x7vahlSwLhlT, Hits: -2.428, queued_as: C88CF384650, 630 ms
If someone can help me out I would greatly appreciate it.
(note: i did change my email to 'user' above so i don't pick up spam from bots...)
TIA!