Thread: High Performance, Security, Redundancy

gjhorne Guest

Default High Performance, Security, Redundancy

I am new to Zimbra, but not new to linux, security, largescale systems or identity. On my site I run, PostgreSQL, FedoraLDAP, Tomcat, jBoss, Postfix etc already. I have looked at how Zimbra package their product I must admit with some smiles. (Yes I know I could restructure with symbolic links BUT... )

Can another LDAP directory be used for the repository. I know it wont work with the supplied install tools (thank goodness). My general comment would be I can snaffle the schema and port them to another LDAP directory where I can provide some proper access control over attributes etc (and that is not active directory). I am building what most would call a site with "military grade security" even though I hate the words. I dont believe your current implementation can meet my requirements for security but I am willing to put in some yards.

Do you use JAAS for (J2EE)tomcat security or have you implemented your own model (havent looked at the code yet)? (I am thinking in the terms of single-sign-on products where I can force authentication in the DMZ using HTTPS access at a gateway, SSL terminate their, run it through application firewalls (to make sure they are not being naughty), and then sent it through another firewall to tomcat knowing already who it is, that the request is clean and that tomcat will not cough up more than it should with the request.)