Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Install Help

sdb927 is offline Member

Default New Install Help

Hello everyone,

Let me preface the following questions with the knowledge that I am relatively new to Linux systems and core internet mail concepts. I have a heavy MS background and have done a few Exchange installs but that knowledge does not seem to translate well (or be applicable in many cases) in this environment. I have done quite a bit of searching for various messages I'm receiving in these forums as well as on the internet at large and am still stumped. Please accept my apologies in advance if the answers are already out there and I just didn't know what to search for.

The install:
    * Unbuntu 6.10 on an AMD system, 2GB RAM, 60GB hard drive
    * Latest open source Zimbra for Ubuntu
    * This server is behind a firewall and has a private (10.x.x.x) address with an assigned dedicated public IP. I've opened the following incoming ports in the firewall between the public IP and the private IP: 25, 80, 110, 143, 443, 993, 995, 7071, 7110, 7143, 7993, 7995.

I followed posts on this forum and some blogs I found to ultimately get the system running. I can log into the managment console and create accounts. I can log into the accounts via the web front end as well as with IMAP. I can configure POP accounts and "receive" mail by performing the "Get POP Mail" command.

I am unable to send messages. Attempting to send a message to an external e-mail address results in a pop-up message "Message not sent;... Rejected addresses: someone@domain.com". If I send to a local Zimbra account the e-mail sends but shows up in the management console under the Deferred section with a reason of "connection refused". The address being resolved for sending the message is the public IP, not the 10.x.x.x address - while not optimal, I'm not sure why this would result in a refused connection even if it's making a round-trip through the firewall.