Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: fetchmail

psuter is offline Member

Default fetchmail

hi

i have just installed zimbra on FC3. i want my mailserver to recieve my mails from a pop3 server. so far i've ben using excheange with a third party software to recieve my pop3 emails and distribute them to my exchange users. (actually, that's just me, but as a student i get exchange for free, so why not try the advantage of having your onw server at home to keep your mail clients on all computers in sync)

anyways.. i have read in this forum, that under linux with zimbra i need to use fetchmail to achieve what i want.. but how do i do that?
    whenever i search for fetchmail configuration i mainly find isp sites explaining what i have to put in my user directory, but i want fetchmail to downlaod all mails from the pop3 server and then send them right to the mta of zimbra so that zimbra can distribute all mails to the correct users according to their alias email addresses (actually, how do i set an alias with a different domain?)
    i had it done like this on exchange and i want to do it like this on zimbra, because i also want to be able to send emails using my "official" email address on my non-local domain

maybe an example helps:
    say my zimbra domain is zimbra.local and my email address is psuter@gmx.net (that's not my real email address, just an example )
    now i want to set an alias in zimbra for psuter@gmx.net and i want to setup fetchmail to recieve my mails from pop.gmx.net and pass them on to zimbra so it can find the user having psuter@gmx.net as an alias and distribute the mails to him.

i hope i could more or less explain myself clearly and i hope even more, that there are some people on this board who wanted the same thing as me but where cleverer and made it work

i'd appreciate your help

kind regards
    pascal

KevinH is offline Expert Member

This has a good how-to on fetchmail config:

http://newbiedoc.sourceforge.net/net...fetchmail.html