Thread: "Home" Installation Questions

emanaton is offline New Member

Default "Home" Installation Questions

Greetings All,

Ok - I've perused the forum and wiki and am not finding ready answers to my questions, so I'm posting them here. I'm a programmer analyst, a competent Linux user, have a good working understanding of the DNS system, and have experience installing and maintaining with various server technologies (mail servers, databases, etc.). I want to know how feasible it would be to setup Zimbra “at home” for use by myself and my family.

My ideal situation would be to setup one of my Intel boxes as a Linux / Zimbra server to run on my home network. I would then configure it to retrieve and download messages from our various servers (e.g. a couple of domains, gmail, etc.). My family would then be able to log in to use the Zimbra client from that box (and I'd setup a dynamic DNS forwarding service to deal with connections from outside the house LAN).

So, my primary question is: Can this be done? If so, can you give me some pointers on where to look to set up such a system and perhaps provide me with heads up on any “gotchas” I should keep an eye out for and avoid.

Many thanks!

Sean

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

It's a doddle to set-up Zimbra for home use. I'd suggest going with a more 'established' operating system such as CentOS4 (a no-cost RHEL4 version). As long as you have the DNS records set-up correctly, modified the /etc/hosts file and got the compat libs installed (all mentioned in the Zimbra Quick start guide) and enough memory on the system then you really should have no problems.

Welcome to the forums.
    Regards

Bill

Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

gmsmith is offline Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by emanaton View Post
    Greetings All,