Thread: I have a DNS issue, but I can't figure it out.

AmandaM is offline New Member

Default I have a DNS issue, but I can't figure it out.

Please forgive me, I'm new to DNS and I'm posting as a last resort since I've been trolling the forums for answers and I just can't figure out my issues. I've tried and failed at several ZCA and ZCS installs to this point because of DNS issues so I've started fresh and decided that I want the DNS fixed before the install.
    Please keep in mind that I'm in a test environment on VMs to use this and so I cannot connect directly to RHN, only what our production loads have updated (meaning no bind9 just dnsmasq).

The setup is RHEL5 in a VM using dnsmasq to do the split dns, and the DNS server I want to point to is on Windows 2003 Server SP1 in another VM in the same vCenter.

In the Windows DNS I set up a Host(A) record for zimbra.domain.com pointing to the zimbra vm ip address and an MX record based off this A.

The output from the split dns wiki:

dig domain.com mx

Question Section:
    domain.com. IN MX
    Answer Section:
    domain.com. 3600 IN MX 1 zimbra.domain.com.
    Additional Section:
    zimbra.domain.com. 3600 IN A [ZimbraVM IP address]

dig domain.com any

Questions section:
    domain.com IN ANY
    Answer Section:
    domain.com. 600 in A [DNS Server IP]
    domain.com. 3600 IN A [DNS Secondary IP]
    domain.com. 3600 IN NS VMName.domain.com
    domain.com. 3600 IN SOA VMName.domain.com host master 1821 900 600 86400 3600
    domain.com. 3600 IN MX 1 zimbra.domain.com
    domain.com. 0 IN TYPE65281 \# 20 00000000000000020000000384000000011405CCAC

Additional Section:
    VMName.domain.com. 3600 IN A [DNS Server IP]
    zimbra.domain.com. 3600 IN A [ZimbraVM IP]

host $(hostname)
    connection timed out; no servers could be reached

cat /etc/resolv.conf
    search domain.com
    nameserver [DNS Server IP]

cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    [ZimbraVM IP] zimbra.domain.com zimbra