Thread: Zimbra's Default Behaviour over LAN

Ivand is offline New Member

Default Zimbra's Default Behaviour over LAN

Hello

Im new to Zimbra and i'm gonna install it for a midsize business (150-200 accounts). Im just worried because of the characteristics of our setup.

It is a rather far office (20kms away from the nearest city) and because of that we cant get hi-speed internet.

I want to be able to send emails to the outside world, not only the domain (companyname.com).

So the question is, is it possible for emails sent to user@companyname.com to be send over the lan, not the Internet connection, and only have emails sent to other outside domains (user@gmail.com) leave the LAN?

imx
    imx is offline Special Member

Anything that is local to the server wont leave the server, its pointless sending mail out to the wider internet only for it to come back again

However, bear in mind that you cant control spammers - or certainly not their use of your bandwidth. If bandwidth is limited, id look in to rate limiting connections via iptables, to prevent unnecessary hammering of your server; although youre still at the mercy of the spammers themselves.

Why not colocate the server? Depending on the the mail traffic/users im sure the web gui based traffic would be lower that running the server locally.

so, basically if user a sends an email to user b (both in the same LAN), other than to resolve the domain, the email doesnt leave the LAN?

I dont have a problem with bandwidth consumption, the problem is speed. I dont think i will have a spammers problem since most emails will be for internal use only.

Also, colocation is not an option since is a government institution and the security guidelines mandate that emails cant be hosted anywhere else other than the institution
    Last edited by Ivand; 05-30-2010 at 12:44 PM.

phoenix is online now Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by Ivand View Post