Thread: Zimbra for calendar only and email sent to outside server

dillweed is offline Junior Member

Default Zimbra for calendar only and email sent to outside server

I'm not sure this has been posted before, but I wasn't sure what to search for...so here goes.

I not the admin in our network, but I've been asked to set up an email server using Zimbra, mainly because I have more experience on *nix systems than the real network guy (which is sad). Plus, we wanted something free and non-microsoft. Don't get me wrong, I'm still a newbie and most of the time I'm flying by the seat of my pants, but I'm learning and that is what matters, I suppose. We had a Zimbra server going previously, but I think we didnít have the dns server setup correctly. As a result, 3 or 4 weeks down the road we began to have problems with outlook and mail getting stuck in the outbox.

I'm not really sure how to ask this question, but I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 with a split dns setup and the master dns server is on a windows 2003 server. I think the dns server is setup correctly for the most part, but Iím not sure about the windows 2003 server. (I still canít ping internal clients, but the internal MX record resolves correctly. For some reason bind9 doesnít seem to forward requests to the main windows dns server.)