Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Installation

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2010, 03:31 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default Mail being marked as junk

Hi

I have got my server up and running but some of my sent mail is getting marked as junk by hotmail gmail etc.

I think I have setup rDNS ok and a SPF record.
Am I missing something else ?

Heres a header. Names changed to protect the innocent Can anyspot anything suspect?

X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7dXM9MDtsPTA7YT0wO0Q9MjtTQ0w9NA==

X-Message-Status: n:0

X-SID-PRA: Ian test

X-AUTH-Result: NONE

X-Message-Info: 6sSXyD95QpXXTkn9ll/u+fz3Xh+s2s4tCh6DsUwbkw8Wm5zHavXQwqBq5+JTeow4nFYkJ 5/MVWCMplV2TrhKNqpKMPdnJiPt

Received: from mailhost.testsite.co.uk ([80.229.16.48]) by SNT0-MC3-F36.Snt0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959);

Fri, 23 Apr 2010 03:14:10 -0700

Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])

by mailhost.testsite.co.uk (Postfix) with ESMTP id E5CEA58B5

for ; Fri, 23 Apr 2010 11:15:45 +0100 (BST)

X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at testsite.co.uk

Received: from mailhost.testsite.co.uk ([127.0.0.1])

by localhost (mailhost.testsite.co.uk [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)

with ESMTP id anxZ4JQTWCqs for ;

Fri, 23 Apr 2010 11:15:45 +0100 (BST)

Received: from mailhost.testsite.co.uk (mailhost.testsite.co.uk [192.168.0.69])

by mailhost.testsite.co.uk (Postfix) with ESMTP id 4923B5A93

for ; Fri, 23 Apr 2010 11:15:45 +0100 (BST)

Date: Fri, 23 Apr 2010 11:15:45 +0100 (BST)

From: "Ian test"

To: i

Message-ID: <3321496.161272017644712.JavaMail.SYSTEM@Artois>

Subject: want the header

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8

Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

X-Originating-IP: [84.92.229.149]

X-Mailer: Zimbra 6.0.5_GA_2213.F11 (Zimbra Desktop/1.0.4_1833_Windows)

Return-Path: ian@testsite.co.uk

X-OriginalArrivalTime: 23 Apr 2010 10:14:10.0399 (UTC) FILETIME=[B73EA6F0:01CAE2CD]


Cheers for any advice
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2010, 03:39 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,929
Default

It may be X-Originating-IP in the headers which is tripping; which you can disable through the Admin GUI.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2010, 03:46 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default

okey Thanks

I'll try that later when I can log into the administration panel.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2010, 01:03 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default No Luck

Disabled the x-originating IP still being sent to junk in hotmail

Bit stuck now for what else to try
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2010, 02:45 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default still not fully ok

Most emails working ok now However created a yahoo account to test and email went straight in junk

Can anyone spot something in this header what could be causing the issue

From Ian D. Percy Tue Apr 27 09:36:46 2010
X-Apparently-To: ianxxxx23@yahoo.co.uk via 212.82.110.206; Tue, 27 Apr 2010 02:35:04 -0700
Return-Path:
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 80.229.16.48
X-YMailISG: q.7z_oMWLDtpv7aIdEsORP9TB.z7hcn8eSBnrjD9XwDtvEmAAm zPP8tTz7g2PMbKKgLM.CbuBjwnK3HFOo.3YcGni_9pQyPkLM02 kc_FccKpODBpXlgbUyfwePam9rlVoeVIo7vs0E0VlAsofDsWH9 HxwsusR7lISsD9L1swPdt4lbow36GgZYBopusihOtnF8WD6YzC g.jOhhIxcfTELFo8asG_3AuSktyuHjWe9a9Z9SUobRZYPNY0Ul 6psEFri9DO9lG_koUwyIoTXIrXQvBZytjep2j.uBOjTeHB4O.X QU8eAUgckEri_2t8Vqm5ZgEEnIrV6E5S05GKfQva2R5ujfed8v jMt36yxQsAlm_gtA8aKjv06PoZwfo5C7fZQesqgVNgvYhFwhZj M_yLqsGFCegUUJFxQMvhVb26Hmx5QYudkYePQMlS7rVhyqtl0w pWloodPnUY2eJOtR76a9GXX2sQ5Jbn0ohjIGjJjJxx1cFEaRlh OHrGQvpLOqwnU3vR_E1b0dAZGUG0det0o1Xzku0.D2wLoMPqd5 hoTZGq2WqIZWa4KnUt6HOJV2lUoC4cejHcldt7NbYnJc31rTbG mz9ZRotInVGtd8F.yeZ1PMgVCbNJHbun46AuQhWUD3AmcndYdJ IVC8vJoFs6JXghfriFr4QLsC7Zb_dDUrlU56Wvrj.f5.AzjKhB tjl5DACVyipozoey
X-Originating-IP: [80.229.16.48]
Authentication-Results: mta1007.mail.ukl.yahoo.com from=emailtest.co.uk; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=emailtest.co.uk; dkim=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 127.0.0.1 (EHLO mailhost.emailtest.co.uk) (80.229.16.48)
by mta1007.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with SMTP; Tue, 27 Apr 2010 02:35:04 -0700
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mailhost.emailtest.co.uk (Postfix) with ESMTP id D389E178FA
for ; Tue, 27 Apr 2010 10:36:46 +0100 (BST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at emailtest.co.uk
Received: from mailhost.emailtest.co.uk ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mailhost.emailtest.co.uk [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id Dl860lP+3ikY for ;
Tue, 27 Apr 2010 10:36:46 +0100 (BST)
Received: from mailhost.emailtest.co.uk (mailhost.emailtest.co.uk [192.168.0.69])
by mailhost.emailtest.co.uk (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9A98C17905
for ; Tue, 27 Apr 2010 10:36:46 +0100 (BST)
Date: Tue, 27 Apr 2010 10:36:46 +0100 (BST)
From: "Ian D. Percy"
To: ianxxxx23@yahoo.co.uk
Message-ID: <14917409.651272360900541.JavaMail.SYSTEM@Artois>
Subject: Your first Emai
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Mailer: Zimbra 6.0.6_GA_2324.F11 (Zimbra Desktop/1.0.4_1833_Windows)
Content-Length: 125
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 222
Default

I think there are 2 problems:
1.) X-Originating-IP is not even near the IP of the server
2.) Message-ID says it is from @Artois, but mail is from @emailtest.co.uk

I guess your HOSTNAME of Zimbra server should match "mailhost.emailtest.co.uk" and "mailhost.emailtest.co.uk" should be added in SPF as sending server for your e-mails.
Also, REVERSE LOOKUP PTR on IP 80.229.16.48 should resolve to mailhost.emailtest.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2010, 01:49 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Question

It is the same 80.229.16.48 resolves to mailhost.percysociety.co.uk.
- hostname of the server.
[I changed the names in the posted result as I thought it might not be a good idea to put the actual names on a forum ??
I have an SPF record for this tool

>>2.) Message-ID says it is from @Artois, but mail is from @percysociety.co.uk
This is coming from me logging in via the web client from work. Artois is the name of the machine at work. I'll try sending an email to yahoo from the actual machine later and see if that gets marked as spam. If this is the cause it would surley be an issue for anyone who uses the web client?

Last edited by ianpico; 04-28-2010 at 01:59 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2010, 03:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 222
Default

It is not clear to me why this mail would be marked as Junk. I also ran Bayesian test on it and it shows HAM (not spam). IP is also not on any blacklist, SMTP is not an open relay, and as you say, reverse PTR resolves to sending domain.

Maybe Yahoo adds some X-headers which would explain why it is considered junk?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2010, 02:12 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default Not due to Message ID

Looks like its nothing to do with the Message-ID

Sent another to yahoo from the actual machine that hosts zimbra email still turned up in junk

<7750541.2.1272523568330.JavaMail.root@mailhost.per cysociety.co.uk>

Stumped
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2010, 02:40 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,929
Default

Try changing your SPF record to be more specific
Code:
"v=spf1 a:mailhost.percysociety.co.uk"
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.