Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Installation

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2009, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 220
Default my zimbra smtp used by someone

Hello,

I'm receiving a lot of messages (return failure), someone is using my mail.domain.com to send spam mails, so how I can take the necessary action with matter?

Cheers,
__________________
- In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates?
- I am Running Linux.. Finally, my PC is valid & Reliable Hereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2009, 08:32 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snake_eyes View Post
I'm receiving a lot of messages (return failure), someone is using my mail.domain.com to send spam mails, so how I can take the necessary action with matter?
You've given no examples of what the messages are, no headers or other information. If they really are NDR then search the forums or wiki (or google/yahoo) for backscatter spam, this is not someone using your server but rather someone using NDR as a means of getting mail to you. You should also look in the wiki for details on improving the anti-spam system - you are using 'smtpd_reject_unlisted_recipients yes' aren't you? This is not a Zimbra problem but rather a side effect of running a mail server.

Further details and reading: Spam Links - backscatter
ndr spam - Yahoo! Search Results
__________________
Regards


Bill

Last edited by phoenix; 12-25-2009 at 08:37 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2010, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 220
Default

sorry for delay to reply to the topic..

I have the always_bcc in the main.cf, there is an out@domain.com and as you know it will catch all the outbound traffic, I checked the out@domain.com and I founded that there are too many messages from myaccount@domain.com to someaccount@hotmail.com or from admin@domain.com to user@yahoo.com or support@domain.com to another@gmail.com, so is there anything must I do to trace and stop this kind of messages?
__________________
- In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates?
- I am Running Linux.. Finally, my PC is valid & Reliable Hereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 220
Default

I got some message header:

Quote:
From: "Medusa Maritime s.a / PLS ADD OUR ADRESS '' chartering@medusamaritime.com '' NOT smtp"
To: "Medusa Maritime s.a / PLS ADD OUR ADRESS '' chartering@medusamaritime.com '' NOT smtp"
Sent: Thursday, January 21, 2010 2:31:17 PM GMT +03:00 Iraq
Subject: NEED VSL OPEN WEST/ CENTRAL MED BALE- 170/190K CBFT
Please note that I added the always_bcc=out@domain.com in the main.cf of postfix, so when I login into out@domain.com I founded a lot of messages such as the above header...

So how I can stop them?
__________________
- In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates?
- I am Running Linux.. Finally, my PC is valid & Reliable Hereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2010, 06:06 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,911
Default

If you are never going to email yourself from outside then you could make a change to the Postfix configuration and add the following
Code:
check_sender_access hash:/etc/postfix/spoofprotection,
under smtpd_recipient_restrictions; with the following in the file
Code:
yourdomain		REJECT we never email ourself from outside so go away!
and then
Code:
postmap spoofprotection
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2010, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 220
Default

what do you mean by if we are never email ourself from outside? so I couldn't receive any email from the same domain? or what? your explanation plz....
__________________
- In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates?
- I am Running Linux.. Finally, my PC is valid & Reliable Hereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 220
Default

still the same problem, I activated the DSPAM in the server still when I login in into the archive@mydomain.com "Which is alwasy_bcc in the postfix" I see some messages that sent from xx@somedomain.com to xxx@anotherdomain.com

it shouldn't be in the mailbox...

Any help plz?
__________________
- In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates?
- I am Running Linux.. Finally, my PC is valid & Reliable Hereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:24 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snake_eyes View Post
what do you mean by if we are never email ourself from outside? so I couldn't receive any email from the same domain? or what? your explanation plz....
If you are never going to send a email from your domain too your domain directly from the Internet then your domain should never be listed as the from domain.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:26 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snake_eyes View Post
still the same problem, I activated the DSPAM in the server still when I login in into the archive@mydomain.com "Which is alwasy_bcc in the postfix" I see some messages that sent from xx@somedomain.com to xxx@anotherdomain.com

it shouldn't be in the mailbox...

Any help plz?
So they are in your archive account and but not in the mailbox ? If that is the case then this is the expected behaviour. I believe in 6.0.5 you can now direct any emails that have been marked as SPAM into a different HSM mail store.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 220
Default

but I don't know if the messages are spam or someone attack the SMTP of the server... how can I check this scenario via log or something else...
__________________
- In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates?
- I am Running Linux.. Finally, my PC is valid & Reliable Hereafter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.