Thread: Use Zimbra UI -only- for mailing

vargadanis is offline Active Member

Default Use Zimbra UI -only- for mailing

Hello everyone!

I have got an interesting question for you peeps. I am not an expert on zimbra or system administration but I thought it's worth a question/post.
    So I was wondering if it is at all possible to use Zimbra's superior user interface to access email accounts remotely. I think I saw an option to add imap/pop3 connections to an account but is it at all possible to install/use only the user interface of the Zimbra project and let some other MTA handle the emails?

So what I am actually seeking is the option to be able to install zimbra on a dedicated server and use the already existing mailing infrastructure with say tens of thousands email accounts w/o the need to migrate to Zimbra but give the users the option to use Zimbra's mailing interface intead of the oldschool Squirrelmail/Horde/Roundcube webmail clients.

I know it hurts a bit to degrade Zimbra to only webmail client but ehh, again this is just a question.

Regards
    ZCS: none ^_^ (as of now)
    System: Debian Lenny 2.6.27-vserver-2.3.0.36

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by vargadanis View Post
    I have got an interesting question for you peeps. I am not an expert on zimbra or system administration but I thought it's worth a question/post.
    So I was wondering if it is at all possible to use Zimbra's superior user interface to access email accounts remotely. I think I saw an option to add imap/pop3 connections to an account but is it at all possible to install/use only the user interface of the Zimbra project and let some other MTA handle the emails
    This has been asked and answered many times in the forums. The answer is no, it's not possible. Zimbra is a complete Collaboration Suite and must be installed as such, the Web UI is an interface written specifically for Zimbra and it's components.
    Regards

Bill