Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] Connecting Zimbra to the outside world...

mclark2112 is offline Member

Default [SOLVED] Connecting Zimbra to the outside world...

Please have mercy on me, I am new to running Linux on my own box. I have run some dedicated servers, but never had to mess with the DNS side, as the hosting company always took care of that.

First my install:

My Network domain is mydomain.com (mydomain is fake, but the .com part is real (not my design))

Windows 2000 network, 2000 machine handling DNS, all static DHCP is not running

We have an internal 10.x.x.x ip scheme, which I set up on the Zimbra server.

The zimbra server is called mailhost.mydomain.com

The mail sever is running great, everything works, I can pop and IMAP to my heart's delight. I set up an alias so that http://webmail/ points to the web client, and it works fine. Internally that is.
    Now I want to try the next step. I want to connect to the outside world with my Zimbra mail. We have a dedicated connection (Comcast) to the internet that is firwalled (SonicWall) and we were given 5 external IPs.

My question is this, should I have used one of those IPs to setup my Zimbra box? Or can I somehow route the external IP to my internal IP, maybe with the SonicWall?

Also, our external domain name is slightly different than our internal domain name, will that matter, or does the MX record take care of that, since it is all IP driven?

rsw686 is offline Active Member

You need to setup NAT translation on the SonicWall to forward the appropriate ports to your Zimbra box. Setup a A record in the DNS for your domain for mail and smtp to point to your external zimbra IP. Then create an MX record that points to smtp.yourdomain.com

Thanks for the super quick response!!!

You need to setup NAT translation on the SonicWall to forward the appropriate ports to your Zimbra box.