| Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums! | |
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register.
We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.
|  | | 
03-19-2009, 05:54 PM
| | | Another problem sending to Yahoo accounts. OK, I am a newbie to Linux and Zimbra. I am running ZCS on an Ubuntu 8.04 server. I can send email to anyone except for yahoo.com users. I have searched the forum, but I am not getting something. I know it has to do with DNS and PTR records. We have a block of static IPs with Qwest, and I contacted them to add a PTR record to reverse DNS to mydomain. I am including a portion of the zimbra.log file and a dig qwery. Code: Mar 18 10:20:02 mail zimbramon[13364]: 13364:info: 2009-03-18 10:20:02, QUEUE: 0 0
Mar 18 10:20:10 mail postfix/smtpd[13528]: connect from mail.mydomain.com[10.0.0.10]
Mar 18 10:20:10 mail postfix/smtpd[13528]: 9EEFC22823A: client=mail.mydomain.com[10.0.0.10]
Mar 18 10:20:10 mail postfix/cleanup[13533]: 9EEFC22823A: message-id=<6193963.151237389609338.JavaMail.root@mail>
Mar 18 10:20:10 mail postfix/smtpd[13528]: disconnect from mail.mydomain.com[10.0.0.10]
Mar 18 10:20:10 mail postfix/qmgr[24577]: 9EEFC22823A: from=, size=670, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Mar 18 10:20:13 mail zimbramon[13374]: 13374:info: 2009-03-18 10:20:07, DISK: mail.mydomain.com: dev: /dev/sda1, mp: /, tot: 36492, avail: 31619
Mar 18 10:20:16 mail amavis[7441]: (07441-02) ESMTP::10024 /opt/zimbra/data/amavisd/tmp/amavis-20090316T154623-07441: -> SIZE=670 Received: from mail.mydomain.com ([127.0.0.1]) by localhost (mail.mydomain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP for ; Wed, 18 Mar 2009 10:20:15 -0500 (CDT)
Mar 18 10:20:16 mail amavis[7441]: (07441-02) Checking: l3jdA+93zqbb [10.0.0.10] ->
Mar 18 10:20:19 mail clamd[7395]: SelfCheck: Database status OK.
Mar 18 10:20:35 mail postfix/smtpd[13683]: connect from localhost.mydomain.com[127.0.0.1]
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail postfix/smtpd[13683]: 1715222823B: client=localhost.mydomain.com[127.0.0.1]
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail postfix/cleanup[13533]: 1715222823B: message-id=<6193963.151237389609338.JavaMail.root@mail>
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail postfix/qmgr[24577]: 1715222823B: from=, size=1122, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail postfix/smtpd[13683]: disconnect from localhost.mydomain.com[127.0.0.1]
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail amavis[7441]: (07441-02) FWD via SMTP: -> ,BODY=7BIT 250 2.6.0 Ok, id=07441-02, from MTA([127.0.0.1]:10025): 250 2.0.0 Ok: queued as 1715222823B
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail amavis[7441]: (07441-02) Passed CLEAN, LOCAL [10.0.0.10] [10.0.0.10] -> , Message-ID: <6193963.151237389609338.JavaMail.root@mail>, mail_id: l3jdA+93zqbb, Hits: -2.499, size: 670, queued_as: 1715222823B, 23079 ms
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail postfix/smtp[13542]: 9EEFC22823A: to=, relay=127.0.0.1[127.0.0.1]:10024, delay=26, delays=0.25/0.09/4.1/22, dsn=2.0.0, status=sent (250 2.0.0 Ok: queued as 1715222823B)
Mar 18 10:20:36 mail postfix/qmgr[24577]: 9EEFC22823A: removed
Mar 18 10:20:37 mail zmmailboxdmgr[13765]: status requested
Mar 18 10:20:37 mail zmmailboxdmgr[13765]: status OK
Mar 18 10:20:41 mail postfix/smtp[13732]: 1715222823B: host g.mx.mail.yahoo.com[206.190.53.191] refused to talk to me: 421 Message from (1.2.3.4) temporarily deferred - 4.16.50. Please refer to http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/mail/defer/defer-06.html
Mar 18 10:20:42 mail postfix/smtp[13732]: 1715222823B: to=, relay=c.mx.mail.yahoo.com[216.39.53.3]:25, delay=6.5, delays=0.12/0.07/5.2/1.1, dsn=2.0.0, status=sent (250 ok dirdel)
Mar 18 10:20:42 mail postfix/qmgr[24577]: 1715222823B: removed
user@mail:/var/log$ dig -x 1.2.3.4
; <<>> DiG 9.4.2-P2 <<>> -x 1.2.3.4
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23287
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 3
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;4.3.2.1.in-addr.arpa. IN PTR
;; ANSWER SECTION:
4.3.2.1.in-addr.arpa. 43200 IN PTR mydomain.com.
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
3.2.1.in-addr.arpa. 43200 IN NS authns2.dnvr.qwest.net.
3.2.1.in-addr.arpa. 43200 IN NS authns1.mpls.qwest.net.
3.2.1.in-addr.arpa. 43200 IN NS authns3.sttl.qwest.net.
;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
authns3.sttl.qwest.net. 30941 IN A 206.81.192.11
authns2.dnvr.qwest.net. 30941 IN A 206.196.128.12
authns1.mpls.qwest.net. 30941 IN A 63.231.205.1
;; Query time: 1745 msec
;; SERVER: 10.0.0.10#53(10.0.0.10)
;; WHEN: Wed Mar 18 10:23:45 2009
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 208 Names and actual IP addresses have been changes. 10.0.0.10 is the local ip address of the server. 1.2.3.4 represents our public ip address.
I would greatly appreciate any help. | 
03-20-2009, 05:01 AM
| | | Your RDNS is entry is pointing to your domain and not your ZCS servername.
__________________ | 
03-26-2009, 05:41 AM
| | | I am not getting this. I believe the problem is that I am basically dealing with 3 different DNS servers. Qwest owns our static IP address block, and I have had them add a PTR record, and rDNS. Godaddy is the domain registrar, and I have added a SPF record and TXT record for the domain name. And then we have localhost which also has a DNS server. Not sure what I need to add to that.
It is a split DNS setup, and I followed the instructions Here.
Would it help if I posted the real domain name and IP addresses? This is only a test server, and the domain and IP will change if we ever get this into production. | 
03-26-2009, 05:44 AM
| | | Yep, that would be useful so we can perform some checking.
__________________ | 
03-26-2009, 06:07 AM
| | Outstanding Member | |
Posts: 684
| | Yahoo defers.... a lot of mail from my server even though the PTR, MX, and A records all are correct. My IP is not on any rbl lists either. These mails seem to eventually get delivered however.
I don't know what Yahoo is using to make the decision to defer mail but it is not DNS or RBL in my case.
Do your messages ever get delivered? | 
03-26-2009, 06:52 AM
| | | Quote:
Originally Posted by uxbod Yep, that would be useful so we can perform some checking. | domain name is cwitdept.com
mail server is mail.cwitdept.com
static ip is 71.39.120.105 | 
03-26-2009, 06:56 AM
| | | I believe Y! check DKIM so you may wish to set it up on your server and then test it out :- DKIM Testing
__________________ | 
03-26-2009, 07:06 AM
| | Zimbra Consultant & Moderator | |
Posts: 20,316
| | Quote:
Originally Posted by bneiman domain name is cwitdept.com
mail server is mail.cwitdept.com
static ip is 71.39.120.105 | You actually have an incorrect DNS set-up, read this: Quick Check - Pingability.com
__________________
Regards
Bill
| 
03-26-2009, 07:19 AM
| | | Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix | Can you expand on that a little? Is this what you are talking about?
"The MX record value 'mail.cwitdept.com' points to a CNAME. It must point to a host name with an A record." | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode | | Why Join? Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.  |