Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Zimbra as mail server for LAN

abhinav701 is offline Active Member

Question Zimbra as mail server for LAN

Hi,

I am new to Linux & Zimbra. I have a small/medium business and we have our mail hosted with google apps right now. Our office has an internal mail server called IQuinox (Postmaster) installed. It picks the mail from the web and distributes it to the users on Iquinox. While sending the mail it checks if the mail is for internal users (same domain) or external users. If its internal (same domain) the mail is not sent out and is directed to the respective user thus saving upload and download again.

The users access mail through their mail clients like Outoook Express/Eudora/Thunderbird etc.

Can I have something similar with Zimbra. I think Zimbra can give me more functionalities then my current deployment. Would appreciate any kind of help. I saw a similar question but the thread just ended abruptly.

uxbod is offline Moderator

Welcome to the forums

Yes Zimbra will do exactly what you want plus more You can either continue to use Outlook Express/Thunderbird but why not just use the Ajax web client directly ? Any specific questions you would like answering ?

phoenix is online now Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by abhinav701 View Post
    The users access mail through their mail clients like Outoook Express/Eudora/Thunderbird etc.
    You could also use this: Yahoo! Zimbra Desktop
    Regards

Bill

Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

Wow ! That's fast.. Well I don't mind that at all.. Just that at times our executives travel a lot and go to places where they might not have internet access or very slow internet access making life difficult.. besides it is helpful if we have a copy of the mail on the laptops instead of having it just on the server (not forgetting the bulky attachments).

I think I would want a dual way of access.. AJAX as well as the mail client..