Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Virtualization Zimbra

norixam is offline Intermediate Member

Question Virtualization Zimbra

Hi.

What would be the best solution for virtualization? Xen or VMware server to run zimbra as virtual machine?

Thanks.

windependence is offline Intermediate Member

Quote Originally Posted by norixam View Post
    Hi.

What would be the best solution for virtualization? Xen or VMware server to run zimbra as virtual machine?

Thanks.
    Hands down VMWare. With Xen you cannot access the optical drives without going through a whole bunch of bull$it. I have been running VMWare server (free) for about 6 months now and it's very stable if run on Linux. I would suggest CentOS as a host system.

-Tim

tobru is offline Active Member

Why not XEN? You will have MUCH MUCH more performance when you use a paravirtualised Linux. VMWare Server will introduce paravirtualisation in Version 2, but this version is still Beta and will be released later this year.
    So if you know a bit Linux, then I strongly advise to use XEN . My favorite distribution is Ubuntu and I recommend this to you (Zimbra is tested and supported under Ubuntu 6.06 (but not CentOS) and this distribution runs smoothly under XEN).

Regards,
    Tobias

Klug is online now Moderator

Virtual Iron 8)

Quote Originally Posted by tobru View Post
    Why not XEN? You will have MUCH MUCH more performance when you use a paravirtualised Linux. VMWare Server will introduce paravirtualisation in Version 2, but this version is still Beta and will be released later this year.
    So if you know a bit Linux, then I strongly advise to use XEN . My favorite distribution is Ubuntu and I recommend this to you (Zimbra is tested and supported under Ubuntu 6.06 (but not CentOS) and this distribution runs smoothly under XEN).

Regards,
    Tobias