Thread: [SOLVED] Zimbra and local mail delivery with Postfix

Openlink is offline New Member

Default [SOLVED] Zimbra and local mail delivery with Postfix

Hi everyone,

I'm a former Exchange admin just getting used to Zimbra, and I have one issue that I can't seem to figure out, and I don't know enough about it to make an educated search.

My Zimbra server is housed on the same server as my company Asterisk server running CentPBX 1.3 (CentOS 5). Zimbra works great for my corporate accounts and all mail flow seems to be working without any problems. The one issue I'm having is with my Postfix queue not delivering local/system mails and sending out e-mails from the Asterisk server (voicemails, etc). I currently have 31 items in my queue (/var/spool/postfix) and understand that the queue cannot send anything because Postfix is not running (outside of being the Zimbra user), so what is the workaround? I'm sure I'm not the first guy with this issue, but was not having any luck finding a solution in the forums or Google because I think my search terms probably sucked.

Thanks,

Colin

dwmtractor is offline Moderator

Colin,

I'm not sure what you mean when you say "Postfix is not running (outside of being the Zimbra user)." Postfix IS running or not, for the whole box. It is a standard SMTP mail transport, and if you have the asterisk box's IP in your "allowed networks" for postix, it should accept the mail and transmit it. I have a setup where a Crystal Reports server and a Veritas Backup Exec box send mail to various users (both in and out of my domain) using SMTP, and they doesn't talk to the Zimbra-specific package at all--just relays mail thru the postfix part of the server. Making sure your server is willing to relay for that box is all it should take.