Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keeping email locally

Rebecca Landis is offline Junior Member

Default Keeping email locally

I am new to Zimbra Desktop. My ISP offer ZCS as an alternate webmail client. I've been running Outlook for ages and finally had enough.

My problem is that Zimbra wants to purge desktop email if I don't move them into a local folder. It also seems to ignore sent mail even in its voracious moods.

I can temporarily control disappearing email by keeping Outlook as my default email client and setting the number of days to keep mail on the server to something longer than Zimbra would give me -- 2 or 3 days, tops.

My main email is configured as a Zimbra account, which appears to mean IMAP. I THINK I could configure this account as POP, but I'll have to kill the other one first. Zimbra won't let me have two accounts for a single email address.

Is there any way to make a Zimbra account play nice? Or do I have to start over with a new POP version?

phoenix is online now Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

If you have set-up your Zimbra Desktop to use the 'Zimbra Account' configuration then it does not remove any email from the server unless you are connecting with another client that removes email. If you wish to use it as a POP3 account you can certainly do that but email will be removed from the server.

I'm not really sure what your title "Keeping email locally" actually means, what are you trying to do? Don't forget that ZD is an offline mail client and will synchronise itself with your server and keep an exact copy of what's on your server (in all the folders).
    Regards

Bill

Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

Email is disappearing from my Zimbra Desktop inbox. It seems to be connected with email being deleted on the server.

My ISP insists that nothing could possibly happen in their application (ZCS) that would cause it. The trigger is NOT in the cloud.