Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Importing issue with "Tar-GZipped" (.tgz) file

ksri99 is offline New Member

Default Importing issue with "Tar-GZipped" (.tgz) file

Hello All,

I'm new to Zimbra desktop and facing this issue. I have the latest version of Zimbra desktop (downloaded last week). I pointed the Desktop to one of my email accounts, synchronized the email with Zimbra desktop and exported the emails into "Tar-GZipped" (.tgz) format.

Now after a clean up, I want to re-import the .tgz file using Zimbra Desktop back into the email account. The email account shows green synched. status icon before I start importing. When I go to preferences/import-export tab and do the import, it displays "Import Started" notification for a moment and then nothing happens. I waited long enough to determine nothing is happening. Email sync. with the mail server works just fine, the import part is the one which is not working.

The .tgz file is about 2GB in size. This is being done on Windows Vista system.

Last week, I did migrate one of my other accounts, which was about 1.2 GB in size the same way as above and it worked just fine. That was done on Windows XP.

I have a very urgent need to do this import and your help is very much appreciated. Please point me to how to debug this. Is Vista supported? Where could the import log information be found? Is there any restriction on the size of the archive that could be imported?

Thank you very much!

-Sri.

phoenix is online now Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by ksri99 View Post
    Hello All,

I'm new to Zimbra desktop and facing this issue. I have the latest version of Zimbra desktop (downloaded last week).
    The 'latest' version of ZD is 2 Beta 2, is that what you're using? If not I'd suggest you download that and try again, the announcement and download link are in the Zimbra Desktop forums.
    Last edited by phoenix; 04-06-2011 at 09:49 AM.
    Regards

Bill