Thread: [SOLVED] Installed Zimbra Desktop Client - Emails deleted from the server!

tezarin is offline Senior Member

Default [SOLVED] Installed Zimbra Desktop Client - Emails deleted from the server!

Hi all,

I am new to Zimbra, and until today I was using it through the web interface.

Today I downloaded and installed Zimbra Desktop Client and I forgot to select the checkbox where it reads "Synchronization Settings" --->"Leave on server" and therefore ALL my emails got downloaded to Zimbra desktop.

I was wondering:
    1) If there is a way to move them back to the server so I can continue to use the web version.

2) Is there any way to add logon screen to the Zimbra Desktop Client? Currently, it saved my password and whoever double click on the icon, it will popup and other users of this computer can view my emails!

Thanks in advance

bdial is offline Moderator

if you're using network edition you could just restore the mailbox to the point before you downloaded it all

otherwise you can enable imap access for your account, and copy the files back up to the server via imap. At least thats how I'd do it in outlook, I've never used zimbra desktop

mmorse is offline Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by bdial View Post
    I've never used zimbra desktop
    We're gonna have to convert you

Welcome to the forums tezarin,

Quote Originally Posted by tezarin View Post
    I am new to Zimbra, and until today I was using it through the web interface.

Today I downloaded and installed Zimbra Desktop Client and I forgot to select the checkbox where it reads "Synchronization Settings" --->"Leave on server" and therefore ALL my emails got downloaded to Zimbra desktop.

I was wondering:
    1) If there is a way to move them back to the server so I can continue to use the web version.
    For the future use account type 'Zimbra' rather than 'Pop'.