Thread: lack luster features

zknight is offline New Member

Default lack luster features

Hello,
    I'm new to zimbra. I've just installed the Zimbra Desktop on CentOS5. It installed fine and initially ran. However, while downloading mail from my POP3 account, the jetty server crapped out several times. I have about 3K messages so it took a while. The first time it crashed, it took a while for me to figure out what was wrong and how to get it to continue. I got a "cannot connect to localhost" on whatever port its on. Then, I had to restart it at least 10 times while my mail was downloading.
    * This should not happen in the first place. If it does, it should be rare. This is a bug.
    * The documentation was not helpful in figuring out how to resolve this issue. I nearly chucked the Zimbra Desktop due to this.

After finally getting all of my mail. I started using the Zimbra Desktop. There does not seem to be an import/export feature for mail. I could not find it anywhere in the GUI. If i missed it please let me know where it is and how to use it.
    * Both importing and exporting mail are extremely important. If the Zimbra Desktop cannot do this, then it is little more than a toy.
    * Importing is necessary because users may have already dowloaded and removed mail from a server.
    * If importing is not both possible and easy, then Zimbra Desktop has limited itself extremely.
    * Exporting is of paramount importance: even more important than importing. A user needs to be able to export mail to a standard format. Although the Derby DB stores the mail in text files in the store dir; it is saved in a non-standard format that cannot be used anywhere but in the Zimbra Desktop. That is absolutely horrible.