Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Get inbox count via rest or soap interface

Dirk is offline Moderator

Question Get inbox count via rest or soap interface

Hi, can I get the number of messages in the inbox of an account using rest or soap?

Reason for this is I'm generating an info page that will be shown in the sales room on a large screen, it will show various info from various systems and is programmed in asp and ajax, I'd like to show the number of messages in the sales shared email account so people can see if they need to log into it to deal with messages. The messages are deleted or moved out of the inbox when actioned, so any messages in there, read or not will be something that needs actioning.

I've never used either rest or soap before, so any tips on how to intergrate that into the javascript or asp function would be apprecated.

Thanks.

dkarp is offline Zimbra Employee

Default GetFolderRequest

Quote Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
    Hi, can I get the number of messages in the inbox of an account using rest or soap?
    Use SOAP. A <GetFolderRequest><folder l="2"/></GetFolderRequest> should give you what you want. Look at the "n" attribute on the topmost returned <folder> in the response.
    Bugzilla - Wiki - Downloads - Before posting... Search!

Ok, that's a starting point of sorts. I do appreciate the value of the "give a man a fish" addage, but the thing is, with that starting hint, the amount of research needed for me to work it out is likely to be too much for me to bother.

I will try, of course, and I'll post a working example of exactly how to do it so others may benefit, but I'm currently working on an Asterisk system, which will also be intergrated into this status display and that's taking a phenominal amount of time and research, so what I hoped would be a short diversion may be a weeks research and learning.