Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need guidance for developing zimlets

jiggy is offline Active Member

Default Need guidance for developing zimlets

Hello,

Basically i am a java developer.I have some knowledge of Javascript and no knowledge of Ajax.

Now in my company i am being assigned the job of developing zimlets for an application.

I gone through the preliminary draft of Zimlet's whitepaper and got some idea of what zimlets are and what they consists of.

I looked at the sample zimlets coming by default with Zimbra server.But when i looked at the code in the zimlet definition file there was very less code and in the .js file was the full functionality.But honestly saying i didn't got anything written in the .js file.One thing I am sure of is that code is not pure javascript.

So if some body can help me in understanding what is going on in that .js file (for e.g the com_zimbra_email example) and let me know how to initiate and what approach to take for the task of my zimlet development,i would be really grateful to the zimbra community.

Basically i will be developing zimlet forms which will get poppedup when the user will right click a particular content in the emailbody.

Thanks

KevinH is offline Expert Member

Lots of Zimlets can be built from just the .xml file. To be honest most do one or more things that you must write in JS code. So if your doing some custom popup or want special UI interactions you'll want to have a .js file loaded with your Zimlet to host that code. Can you give us some more detail or an example of the text you want to match on and exactly what the user would do.. (ie hover over, click, right-click) and then what you want to happen.
    Looking for new beta users -> Co-Founder of Acompli. Previously worked at Zimbra (and Yahoo! & VMware) since 2005.

Hi Kevin,
    Thanks for the reply.

As mentioned in my previous post, i have a scenario of the following kind: