Thread: How can Zimbra be extended?

jmen is offline Starter Member

Default How can Zimbra be extended?

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Zimbra and wonder how Zimbra can be extended by propriatary functionality:

I read about the so called Zimlets as a way to add functionality to Zimbra. As far as I was able to find out, those Zimlets appear in a special area on the right side in a separate box. What I need to do, is to add functionality to Zimbra, that goes far beyound a new Zimlet in a box on the left side of the user interface: I want to add much more functionality. E.g. I want to replace the login mechanism with a completely differnet login funcionality. Also I want to add new DIV's on the User Interface, which contain complete different functionality.

So, if I complete want to rearrange the GUI, that is predetermined by Zimbra, how would I do this (or is this possible anyhow?). Usually, one would expect to have something like a graphical editor, where one can rearrange the DIV's and contents of the user GUI, afterwards you would clik on somethin glike a "Generate"-Button and then the complete AJAX-Code would be build. Is there somethink similar in Zimbra? Or will I have to edit teh AJAX-Code (=js-Files) of the Zimbra sources (if so, it seems to me, that adding extensions means a huge effort, if not to speak of an almost impossible mission)?

Thank you for your reply in advance!

sam_gennux is offline Intermediate Member

hi jmen, Zimlet's functionality does not limit at just "showing up in the left side separate box". It CAN, if you wanted it to, for example, make certain predetermined things disappeared, and even re-arrange the fashion how some components are displayed.