Thread: Zimbra mail development questions

Default Zimbra mail development questions

Hello,

Totally new to the forums so let me start by saying 'Hi!'. I have limited programming experience using VB and Avenue.

We use Zimbra mail here at my workplace, have about 50 workstations. It has worked great for us. I've noticed in mail messages that certain texts have automatic links (dates, etc.). I'm looking to do that to our job numbers that are texts in our office emails...linking them to a database with write ups for each job. So if the user clicked on the job number in an email a new browser tab would open up showing the job write up (html).

I need to know which language and package would be best used for the programming and ANY other information that would help me get started. Admittedly, I'm basically starting at zero programming knowledge other than what I listed above (and even that was rudimentary).

Regards,
    Matt
    Geography is where it's at!

carr is offline Active Member

I think that this is perfect for a zimlet. AFAIK even the zimlet tutorial is doing something very similar.
    Take a look at the zimlet whitepaper and the example, then ask again.

good luck!

Baylink is offline Elite Member

Yep, you are definitely talking about writing a Zimlet.

Check out the wiki, specifically here, and here , and let us know how you come along.

Welcome aboard.
    Jay R. Ashworth - ZCS 6.0.9CE/CentOS5 - St Pete FL US - Music - Blog - Photography - IANAL - IAAMA
    Try to Ask Questions The Smart Way -- you'll get better answers.

Put your product and version in your profile/signature - All opinions strictly my own, even though I have an employer these days.
    If you [SOLVE] something, please tell everyone how for the archives
    And, please... read what people write, and answer the questions they asked, not the ones they didn't.