Thread: Newbie needs help - please be gentle.

nimbra is offline Junior Member

Default Newbie needs help - please be gentle.

Hi all.

I recently inherited a zimbra mail system

3.1.2_GA_445.FC4 May 30, 2006 running on
    2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp

Now... I am a complete newb to zimbra. Been trying to read the forums and the wiki and get little pieces of info here and there and trying to piece this together for my understanding.

This system is production. I've made a couple simple changes via the browser administrator (lowered threshold for spam, turn on SSL). Each of those were followed by the system crashing and corrupting a couple of emails which made the system keep crashing until we figured out and eliminated the offending messages. In addition, a couple months later the nightly cronjob for spam training kept kicking off processes that crippled the machine. I commented out the crontab entry.

Anyway, if simple changes via the admin tool crash the system, I am a whole lot leary of really trying to upgrade zimbra, but it seems as though we should considering I'm having to learn this on the fly.

I'd like to upgrade to the latest open source release (4.5.3ga methinks?). Is there any documentation anywhere that I am missing that would have sort of "complete steps for upgrading zimbra"? Included in said documentation would be things such as

- what directories need to be backed up
    - how to restore should things blow up in your face
    - how exactly do you do the upgrade including typical configurations
    - pitfalls to avoid
    - helpful tips

Like I said, I've tried to find this and perhaps I am missing it. Has anybody written up detailed instructions like these?

Thanks in advance. Sorry if this question has been beaten to death.

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Welcome to the forums.

The upgrade is very simple:

Stop Zimbra
    Backup the /opt/zimbra directories with your favourite back tool
    Unpack the new version