Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2007, 09:49 AM
Member
 
Posts: 13
Default Block domains and individual email addresses

If this has already been covered I apologize and would someone point me in the right direction?

Is it possible to block outside domains and email addresses in Zimbra?

Thanks,

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2007, 10:17 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,640
Default

Search the wiki for 'whitelist'.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2007, 10:20 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 32
Default This is what I found for whitelist...

Hello all,

http://wiki.zimbra.com/index.php?tit...st.2FBlacklist
Seems like a good document, but I am stuck...

Every time I make the suggested edits to /opt/zimbra/conf/amavisd.conf, I issue the zmamavisdctrl stop and start, and it changes the file back to the original?

any clues? I have made the edits once as root and once as the zimbra user? I tried both methods suggested (at the bottom of the page). Both places in the amavisd.conf just disappeared when I restart the service? I am using Ubuntu 6.06 with Z4.5

If there is a better way to add a whitelist, I would love to see it...

Thanks!

brian
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2007, 10:26 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,640
Default

Check the wiki document again - you make the change to /opt/zimbra/conf/amavisd.conf.in
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2007, 04:07 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 32
Default aaaahhhhh!!!!

Thanks.. just got back from a nephew's birthday party and the amavisd is all I could think about!!!

Thanks!!

EDIT!

Whoops, this still isn't working.. Here is the snip I changed (I basically changed in both places):
Code:
#  read_hash("/var/amavis/sender_scores_sitewide"),
read_hash(\%whitelist_sender, '/etc/zimbra/whitelist');

   { # a hash-type lookup table (associative array)
         'USER@speakeasy.net'                   => -10.0,
     'nobody@cert.org'                        => -3.0,
And here is what I continue to see in my log:
Code:
Feb 18 17:28:26 mail postfix/smtpd[21849]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from mail2.sea5.speakeasy.net[69.17.117.4]: 554 Service unavailable; Client host [69.17.117.4] blocked using relays.ordb.org; from=<USER@speakeasy.net> to=<USER@cantfindthewords.com> proto=SMTP helo=<mail2.sea5.speakeasy.net>
Is there somewhere else i can make the change?

Thanks,
brian

Edit:
Crap, now amavisd and antivirus aren't running? and I can't get them started? I thought I checked for syntax??

Last edited by ipguru99; 02-18-2007 at 04:53 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2007, 05:16 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 32
Default a little better... syntax for the page is wrong, though...

I got the services back up, but it still isn't working. Although the log looks different now...

on the 'whitelist' page, the last example has a semi colon instead of a comma (I think it said 'line 231' in the error). After changing that, it starts up again.

But still no email (it is from one of my other accounts, so I can test pretty readily). The reject now has an extra couple of lines in it before the actual reject:
Code:
Feb 18 18:09:26 mail postfix/anvil[26910]: statistics: max connection rate 2/60s for (smtp:69.17.117.7) at Feb 18 18:01:45
Feb 18 18:09:26 mail postfix/anvil[26910]: statistics: max connection count 1 for (smtp:69.17.117.7) at Feb 18 18:01:28
Feb 18 18:09:26 mail postfix/anvil[26910]: statistics: max cache size 1 at Feb 18 18:01:28
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.