Thread: Zimbra Mail Server Mail spooling

viperce is offline New Member

Question Zimbra Mail Server Mail spooling

Hi,

I am currently using Mercury mail server, I would like to switch to Zimbra, however, I am still fairly new to linux and I am trying to figure out where to start.

OK so here is what i currently have the following,

Mercury mail server....
    a mail spooling account (with my ISP)
    so all mails going to @domainname.com are collected from my ISP by mercury, mercury then distributes the emails to all users i have. (catchall@domainname.com account at ISP)
    any email addresses that do not exist are delivered to the postmaster account and a email is sent to the sender notifying them that the account does not exist.

local and external emails are delivered to Mercury, which are then delivered locally as well as to my ISP.

Now, I would like to know if this is possible with Zimbra and if so could you point me in the right direction please.

I have been googling etc and have found a few very old posts....

Thanks in advance...

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Why do you not have your mail delivered and sent directly to and from your server?
    Regards

Bill

Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

I could get my ISP to Deliver my mail to the server, would zimbra then be able to sort my mail for me? deliver to the correct users and any recipients that don't exist would go to postmaster?

the last time i tried to use linux to do this i had to setup 3-4 different packages to do what mercury is doing now...

Quote Originally Posted by viperce View Post
    I could get my ISP to Deliver my mail to the server, would zimbra then be able to sort my mail for me? deliver to the correct users and any recipients that don't exist would go to postmaster?