Thread: Active Directory / Email Address Authentication Question

dlochart is offline Advanced Member

Default Active Directory / Email Address Authentication Question

I am a novice with LDAP and Active Directory so this may be basic but I do not know it and I need to test it.

We will be using AD for our terminal services deployment. The users will be setup in AD. They currently have exchange profiles in another exchange server that we will be migrating from using the Outlook plugin. Once the profiles are migrated to zimbra how do we point there newly created email accounts (that were migrated) to be authenticated by the AD accounts? I have a feeling that the outlook migration will create local auth user accounts and we won't be able to match each user account with an AD auth account.

If it is possible to match do the zimbra email account names need to match the AD account names or is there a way to link these for authentication

Thanks in advance

Default Come on now !!

I know this has been addressed by someone and the Zimbra people should know anyway.

I have a feeling that it needs to be addressed via the properties in LDAP but since docs covering the guts of zimbra are lacking IMHO and I am new to LDAP I am asking for assistance. If this is covered somewhere please point me in the right direction.

thanks

phoenix is offline Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by dlochart View Post
    I know this has been addressed by someone and the Zimbra people should know anyway.
    Did you search the forums and the wiki for an answer?
    Regards

Bill

Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

Quote Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
    Did you search the forums and the wiki for an answer?