Thread: moving users from domainA serverA to domainB serverB

winston6071 is offline Intermediate Member

Default moving users from domainA serverA to domainB serverB

hello

i am new to zimbra and wanted to recheck some questions....

i plan to move my users and all the content of files and calendar aso.. to a new server with a new domain. so therefore i try to find the best possible way doing this.

so whats the best way to do so ?

the old ServerAdomainA account should become an alias address at the new ServerBdomainB Account
    so the only thing i want is to move the existing box content to the new account at the new server and disable the mailbox. Theoretically i can do this each by each because we have less users. and after finish sending the user the new login data for the new server or changing the dns records to point to the new server ...

The question is on howto do this in the best possible way. Or i am in the wrong direction. We have done some backups like this
    wget -q -O $BACKUPPATH/$username.tgz --no-check-certificate --http-user=$ADMINUSER --http-password=$ADMINPWD https://localhost:7071/service/home/$username/?fmt=tgz

creating a new user at the new server and the export above
    and import it ....
    what needs to be considered for propper working?

i have seen a lot of ways to migrate somehow ... but i think this scenario can be done very easy.

thanks in advance for information

cheers winston

federico.bertola is offline Special Member

If you chose to do in this way, you'll lose many informations in the migration process, such as shared folders, specific user preferences, distribution lists and many other little details... I suggest you to try ZxMig, that is designed for this needs. Check also this guide to minimize your downtime during migration.
    I never try to change the domain moving from a server to another but I think that you can cange it after migration with "zmprov rd ..." command.

I hope this will help.
    Federico Bertola