Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:55 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 32
Default Mysterious e-mail

3 of my users received e-mails that made it past the AV scan and spamassassin scoring on my Zimbra server. 2 of the users showed up in the AV NOD32 console as being viruses. The header shows no score for spamassassin. Also, the e-mails appear to be coming from our own domain.

I'm in the process of migrating and have another server that handles the mail and forwards it to an alias on the Zimbra server. The original server was able to mark it as spam through spamassassin (note the [***SPAM***] tag in the subject). Is there a setting that I may be missing to stop this kind of e-mail? Atleast one of the users clicked on the attachment.

PHP Code:
Return-PathLukeGordy@covad.net
Received
from webmail.domain.com (LHLO webmail.domain.com) (Zimbra IP)
 
by webmail.domain.com with LMTPWed21 Sep 2011 09:08:19 -0400 (EDT)
Receivedfrom localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
    
by webmail.domain.com (Postfixwith ESMTP id BC1563988E31;
    
Wed21 Sep 2011 09:08:19 -0400 (EDT)
X-DSPAM-ResultSpam
X
-DSPAM-Class: Spam
X
-DSPAM-Confidence1.00
X
-DSPAM-Probability1.0000
X
-DSPAM-SignatureN/A
X
-Virus-Scannedamavisd-new at domain.com
Received
from webmail.domain.com ([127.0.0.1])
    
by localhost (webmail.domain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
    
with ESMTP id EopfavABVhBiWed21 Sep 2011 09:08:19 -0400 (EDT)
Receivedfrom domain.com (mail.domain.com [Legacy mail server IP])
    
by webmail.domain.com (Postfixwith ESMTPS id 60FDE3988E30;
    
Wed21 Sep 2011 09:08:19 -0400 (EDT)
Receivedfrom dsl95.9-19672.static.ttnet.net.tr (dsl95.9-19672.ttnet.net.tr [95.9.76.216] (may be forged))
    
by domain.com (8.13.8/8.13.8with ESMTP id p8LD7b5j002004;
    
Wed21 Sep 2011 09:07:45 -0400
X
-DKIMSendmail DKIM Filter v2.8.3 domain.com p8LD7b5j002004
Authentication
-Resultsdomain.comdkim=none (no signature)
    
header.i=unknownx-dkim-adsp=none
X
-Virus-StatusClean
X
-Virus-Scannedclamav-milter 0.96.3 at domain.com
Received
from dsl95.9-19672.static.ttnet.net.tr by mx3c8.carrierinternetsolutions.comWed21 Sep 2011 06:07:44 +0200
From
: <scan@domain.com>
To: <user@domain.com>
Subject: [***SPAM***] ReScan from a Hewlett-Packard Officejet  #7974665
DateWed21 Sep 2011 06:07:44 +0200
Message
-ID: <64bc01cc7870$36ee02e0$d84c095f@MARYLIN_Boyer>
MIME-Version1.0
Content
-Typemultipart/related;
    
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0675_01CC7870.37267800"
X-Priority(Normal)
X-MSMail-PriorityNormal
X
-MailerMicrosoft OutlookBuild 10.0.6838
X
-MimeOLEProduced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.2001
Importance
Normal
X
-SPF-Scan-Bysmf-spf v2.0.2 http://smfs.sf.net/
Received-SPFNone (domain.comdomain of lukegordy@covad.net
    does not designate permitted sender hosts
)
    
receiver=domain.comclient-ip=95.9.76.216;
    
envelope-from=<LukeGordy@covad.net>; helo=dsl95.9-19672.static.ttnet.net.tr

Last edited by devicegrip; 09-22-2011 at 08:02 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2011, 08:03 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 32
Default

here is the header from another user that got the almost identical e-mail. This one, the legacy server did not recognize as spam. It is sent from hp@mydomain.com (which doesn't exist).

PHP Code:
Return-PathEdgarCuriel@innovativemgmt.net
Received
from webmail.domain.com (LHLO webmail.domain.com) (Zimbra IP)
 
by webmail.domain.com with LMTPWed21 Sep 2011 07:00:27 -0400 (EDT)
Receivedfrom localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
    
by webmail.domain.com (Postfixwith ESMTP id CCF163988D35
    
for <userc@domain.com>; Wed21 Sep 2011 07:00:27 -0400 (EDT)
X-DSPAM-ResultSpam
X
-DSPAM-Class: Spam
X
-DSPAM-Confidence0.57
X
-DSPAM-Probability1.0000
X
-DSPAM-SignatureN/A
X
-Virus-Scannedamavisd-new at domain.com
Received
from webmail.domain.com ([127.0.0.1])
    
by localhost (webmail.domain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
    
with ESMTP id kuQBjl8HbcEG for <userc@domain.com>;
    
Wed21 Sep 2011 07:00:27 -0400 (EDT)
Receivedfrom domain.com (mail.domain.com [Legacy mail server ip])
    
by webmail.domain.com (Postfixwith ESMTPS id 8404A39882EE
    
for <userc@webmail.domain.com>; Wed21 Sep 2011 07:00:27 -0400 (EDT)
Receivedfrom [125.178.91.139] ([125.178.91.139])
    
by domain.com (8.13.8/8.13.8with ESMTP id p8LAxsvI020811;
    
Wed21 Sep 2011 07:00:01 -0400
X
-DKIMSendmail DKIM Filter v2.8.3 domain.com p8LAxsvI020811
Authentication
-Resultsdomain.comdkim=none (no signature)
    
header.i=unknownx-dkim-adsp=none
X
-Virus-StatusClean
X
-Virus-Scannedclamav-milter 0.96.3 at domain.com
Received
from [125.178.91.139] (account user@domain.com HELO domain.comby domain.com (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 5.3.10with ESMTPA id 449776720 for <user@domain.com>; Wed21 Sep 2011 06:00:01 +0900
Message
-ID: <E0576E05.4050804@domain.com>
DateWed21 Sep 2011 06:00:01 +0900
From
: <hp@domain.com>
User-AgentMozilla/5.0 (MacintoshPPC Mac OS X 10.5itrv:1.9.0.5preGecko/2008120105 Lightning/1.0b3 Thunderbird/2.0.0.0 ThunderBrowse/3.2.6.5
MIME
-Version1.0
To
user@domain.com
Subject
FwdScan from a HP Officejet  #295524
Content-Typemultipart/mixed;
 
boundary="------------040301000307000108090707"
X-SPF-Scan-Bysmf-spf v2.0.2 http://smfs.sf.net/
Received-SPFNone (domain.comdomain of edgarcuriel@innovativemgmt.net
    does not designate permitted sender hosts
)
    
receiver=domain.comclient-ip=125.178.91.139;
    
envelope-from=<EdgarCuriel@innovativemgmt.net>; helo=[125.178.91.139]; 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2011, 08:37 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 32
Default

I don't have the "show original" from the third user. However, she got the same e-mail that the first example got. Somehow she got that users e-mail in her inbox as well. She(user3) thought he(user1) sent it since his(user1) name was in the "to:" field. User3 ended up forwarding this e-mail back to user1 in confusion.

I have some of the headers from the forward.

PHP Code:
DateWed21 Sep 2011 10:18:41 -0400 (EDT)
From: <user3@domain.com>
Touser1@domain.com
Subject
Fwd: [***SPAM***] ReScan from a Hewlett-Packard Officejet  #7974665
Message-ID: <0b9e89a5-7722-4b8e-ab0f-5fcafadccde1@webmail.domain.com>
In-Reply-To: <64bc01cc7870$36ee02e0$d84c095f@MARYLIN_Boyer>
Content-Typemultipart/mixed;
 
boundary="=_65a9c893-cdc2-4c01-be04-e12d85a9d52d"
MIME-Version1.0
X
-Originating-IP: [Local Gateway]
X-MailerZimbra 7.1.1_GA_3213 (ZimbraWebClient - [unknown] (Win)/7.1.1_GA_3196)



BELOW was a message sent to user3 even though it shows user1 in the tofieldUser3 thought it was sent from user1 by mistake.

----- 
Forwarded Message -----

Fromscan@domain.com 
To
user1@domain.com 
Sent
WednesdaySeptember 212011 12:07:44 AM 
Subject
: [***SPAM***] ReScan from a Hewlett-Packard Officejet =C2=A0#7974=
665 

Attached document was scanned 
and sent 
to you using a Hewlett
-Packard HP Officejet 5203A
Sent byMARYLIN 
Images 

Attachment Type
ZIP [DOC

Hewlett-Packard Officejet Locationmachine location not set 
Device
OFC336AA0BSX92735847 
Hopefully this isn't too confusing and someone can shed light on a setting I may be missing.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2011, 07:05 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 32
Default

Anyone have any thoughts? I tried to include everything I have as accurate as possible.

This seems like a huge issue and I would rather not have this happen again.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.