Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:42 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 20
Default Smarthost and "Error 40.4.1: Direct mail from client hosts does not accepted"

Hi,

I have problems with this error, from some our clients:

<email@domain.com>: host fast.mironet.ua[193.178.147.152] said:
550-"Error 40.4.1: Direct mail from client hosts does not accepted, use
your 550 ISPs mail server" (in reply to RCPT TO command)

Email header is looking like this:

Delivered-To: dawid@gmail.com
Received: by 10.147.40.11 with SMTP id s11cs44791yaj;
Mon, 15 Aug 2011 05:53:21 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mr.google.com ([10.216.120.147])
by 10.216.120.147 with SMTP id p19mr3098161weh.75.1313412801822 (num_hops = 1);
Mon, 15 Aug 2011 05:53:21 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.216.120.147 with SMTP id p19mr2045390weh.75.1313412801174;
Mon, 15 Aug 2011 05:53:21 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <daniel@ultimatravel.com>
Received: from ultimatravel.nazwa.pl (aly155.rev.netart.pl [85.128.181.155])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id x45si10388571wec.56.2011.08.15.05.53.19;
Mon, 15 Aug 2011 05:53:20 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of daniel@ultimatravel.com designates 85.128.181.155 as permitted sender) client-ip=85.128.181.155;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of daniel@ultimatravel.com designates 85.128.181.155 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=daniel@ultimatravel.com
Received: from zeus.ultimatravel.com (unknown [58.10.125.24])
by ultimatravel.nazwa.pl (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9AD2730CC956
for <dawid@gmail.com>; Mon, 15 Aug 2011 14:53:18 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by zeus.ultimatravel.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 7BC8A11F562
for <dawid@gmail.com>; Mon, 15 Aug 2011 19:53:16 +0700 (ICT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at zeus.ultimatravel.com
Received: from zeus.ultimatravel.com ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (zeus.ultimatravel.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id tmCKOzg18iKG for <dawid@gmail.com>;
Mon, 15 Aug 2011 19:53:16 +0700 (ICT)
Received: from zeus.ultimatravel.com (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by zeus.ultimatravel.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 1CACB11F30A
for <dawid@gmail.com>; Mon, 15 Aug 2011 19:53:16 +0700 (ICT)
Date: Mon, 15 Aug 2011 19:53:15 +0700 (ICT)
From: Daniel <daniel@ultimatravel.com>
To: Dawid <dawid@gmail.com>
Subject: test
Message-ID: <3c9bf213-c4e1-4d5c-9905-a359a145b359@zeus>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="=_e981ccfe-8562-47cd-a08e-8201d6ed8323"
MIME-Version: 1.0

I have a questions about:
1. Why i have this problem, this error from some clients, and how can i resolve this?
2. Why i have unknown there: Received: from zeus.ultimatravel.com (unknown [58.10.125.24]) - revDNS is OK (i think)

Thanks for yours help!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:53 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blusowiec View Post
I have problems with this error, from some our clients:

<email@domain.com>: host fast.mironet.ua[193.178.147.152] said:
550-"Error 40.4.1: Direct mail from client hosts does not accepted, use
your 550 ISPs mail server"
(in reply to RCPT TO command)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blusowiec View Post
I have a questions about:
1. Why i have this problem, this error from some clients, and how can i resolve this?
The answer is in the error message from the server (highlighted in red above).

Quote:
Originally Posted by blusowiec View Post
2. Why i have unknown there: Received: from zeus.ultimatravel.com (unknown [58.10.125.24]) - revDNS is OK (i think)
I'm not sure which one you're saying is your server but neither of them appear to have a valid reverse DNS (for your server):

Code:
host 85.128.181.155
155.181.128.85.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer aly155.rev.netart.pl.

host 58.10.125.24
24.125.10.58.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer 58-10-125-24.static.asianet.co.th.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2011, 07:34 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for your answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
The answer is in the error message from the server (highlighted in red above).
Yes, but would you like to help me how to resolve problem, please. How can i use my ISP mail server?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
I'm not sure which one you're saying is your server but neither of them appear to have a valid reverse DNS (for your server):
host 85.128.181.155 -> this is my relayhost - I'm using this server to send my emails.
host 58.10.125.24 -> this is my local (in Thailand) public IP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2011, 08:13 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blusowiec View Post
Yes, but would you like to help me how to resolve problem, please. How can i use my ISP mail server?
If you read the Admin Guide or search the wiki for authentication or even go to the Admin UI and set-up a relay to your ISPs mail server that should solve the problem (you could even search the forums for an answer).

Quote:
Originally Posted by blusowiec View Post
host 85.128.181.155 -> this is my relayhost - I'm using this server to send my emails.
host 58.10.125.24 -> this is my local (in Thailand) public IP
As I've said in my previous post, apparently neither of those has valid reverse DNS records (look at the output I've posted). In fact, your DNS records don't even point to your local IP for direct mail delivery to your Zimbra server..
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2011, 09:22 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
If you read the Admin Guide or search the wiki for authentication or even go to the Admin UI and set-up a relay to your ISPs mail server that should solve the problem (you could even search the forums for an answer).
I have like there: Outgoing SMTP Authentication - Zimbra :: Wiki
I was reading about smtp-auth but I cannot find where is the problem...

My main.cf
------------
...
relayhost = ultimatravel.nazwa.pl:587
...
mydestination = localhost
myhostname = zeus.ultimatravel.com
...
smtp_sasl_auth_enable = yes
smtp_sender_dependent_authentication = yes
smtp_sasl_password_maps = hash:/opt/zimbra/postfix/conf/sasl_passwords
smtp_sasl_security_options = noanonymous
smtp_cname_overrides_servername = no
sender_dependent_relayhost_maps = hash:/opt/zimbra/postfix/conf/sender_relay

sasl_passwords:
------------------
daniel@ultimatravel.com daniel@ultimatravel.com:111pass222
...

sender_relay:
---------------
daniel@ultimatravel.com ultimatravel.nazwa.pl:587
...

Zimbra is sending every day lots of emails, but only with two clients i have this problem.
Do you have any idea where is the problem??

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2011, 07:38 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 20
Default

Problem was resolved.

My ISP has problem to resolve my revDNS (unknown [58.10.125.24]):

Received: from zeus.ultimatravel.com (unknown [58.10.125.24])
by ultimatravel.nazwa.pl (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9AD2730CC956
for <dawid@gmail.com>; Mon, 15 Aug 2011 14:53:18 +0200 (CEST)

Regards,
เดฟ
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.