Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 01:21 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default emailing myself -› SPAM

On a newly installed system when I send a mail to myself it goes straight to spam. I have checked that my server/ip is not blacklisted anywhere. Tailed the mailbox.log and zimbra.log... Where else should I look?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 01:40 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

Adding server IP to spamassassin whitelist fixed it, here is how it is done:
Code:
[root@zimbra /]# su zimbra
[zimbra@zimbra /]$ cd /opt/zimbra/conf/spamassassin
[zimbra@zimbra spamassassin]$ nano local.cf 
[Add line trusted_networks XX.XX.XX.XX , Ctrl+O: Save] 
[zimbra@zimbra spamassassin]$ zmmtactl restart && zmamavisdctl restart
Easy-peasy. I would still like to know WHY my mail went to spam, as it is quite possible that other servers might flag my messages as spam, which is undesirable. Someone please help: where do I find the spamfilter logs?

Last edited by jerryboi; 07-22-2011 at 01:48 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 08:16 PM
Outstanding Member
 
Posts: 717
Default

Check the raw message headers of the email you receieve from yourself. It should show every spamassassin rule and score that triggered the spam flagging.
__________________
01 Networks, LLC / Cybernetik.net
Zimbra NE and OSS Cloud Hosting
Shared Web Hosting
Consulting Services
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2011, 06:05 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

Thank you. The mail had this in the header:
Code:
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Spam-Score: 6.83
X-Spam-Level: ******
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=6.83 tagged_above=-10 required=6.6
	tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, HELO_NO_DOMAIN=0.001, HTML_FONT_FACE_BAD=0.981,
	HTML_IMAGE_ONLY_16=1.092, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, RCVD_IN_PBL=3.335,
	RCVD_IN_SORBS_DUL=0.001, RDNS_NONE=0.793,
	SHORT_HELO_AND_INLINE_IMAGE=1.39, TO_EQ_FM_DIRECT_MX=1.136]
	autolearn=no
RCVD_IN_PBL does the most damage, so I went to spamhaus and found that my IP is not listed. What can I do now?

EDIT : Mz server IP is not listed, but the "X-Originating-IP" is. i don't see why sa checks that, should be a misconfig, surely?

Last edited by jerryboi; 07-24-2011 at 06:12 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2011, 06:08 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryboi View Post
RCVD_IN_PBL does the most damage, so I went to spamhaus and found that my IP is not listed.
It will be listed somewhere otherwise it wouldn't have failed the test. Which IP did you check?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryboi View Post
What can I do now?
Do you have the x-originating-ip setting enabled in the Admin UI? If you do then disable it.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2011, 06:19 AM
Outstanding Member
 
Posts: 717
Default

Are you on a home network connection, like cable or DSL, or is this server located on a business grade network connection or datacenter?
__________________
01 Networks, LLC / Cybernetik.net
Zimbra NE and OSS Cloud Hosting
Shared Web Hosting
Consulting Services
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2011, 06:21 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryboi View Post
EDIT : Mz server IP is not listed, but the "X-Originating-IP" is. i don't see why sa checks that, should be a misconfig, surely?
No, it's not.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2011, 01:29 PM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

Krishopper, Phoenix, 10Q for your help, problem is solved by unticking "Add X-Originating IP to messages" on the admin interface under Configuration > Global Settings > MTA > Messages.

@Krishopper The server is at a datacenter, but I logged on with dynamic IP from my isp's residential ip pool and this ip was in fact listed. (I put this in addendum to my previous post when I found out but you guys were lightning fast.)

Thanks again, this is SOLVED.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.