Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Posts: 74
Default Large volume of mail

I notice a spike in the graph:
Number of recipients of messages via either SMTP or LMTP.
The graph is basically flat-lined at 400-450 every hour, except for 1 hour during the day, and this varies, not always the same hour, I see a spike that shows we sent 2000-3000 emails during that hour?
What log can I look at to see what these may be? I checked mail.log but do not see that many. but do see this entry which seems like it might have something to do with it:
Jul 21 10:25:31 zmail5 postfix/anvil[4763]: statistics: max connection rate 1/60s for (smtp:108.62.112.110) at Jul 21 10:18:26
Jul 21 10:25:31 zmail5 postfix/anvil[4763]: statistics: max connection count 1 for (smtp:108.62.112.110) at Jul 21 10:18:26
Jul 21 10:25:31 zmail5 postfix/anvil[4763]: statistics: max cache size 2 at Jul 21 10:18:38
maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-22-2012, 09:00 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Default

i would like to revive this as i have seen the exact same type of cases.
i would like to add that in my instance several lines above stated log i also get a block from the same ip on spamhaus rbl.
May 21 17:09:57 mail postfix/smtpd[16891]: connect from 66-118-151-30.static.sagonet.net[66.118.151.30]
May 21 17:09:57 mail postfix/smtpd[16891]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from 66-118-151-30.static.sagonet.net[66.118.151.30]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [66.118.151.30] blocked using zen.spamhaus.org; http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=66.118.151.30 / The Spamhaus Project - CSS from=<Alexandra@remote.epdmo-rings.com> to=<MY EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED> proto=ESMTP helo=<remote.epdmo-rings.com>
May 21 17:09:59 mail postfix/smtpd[16891]: disconnect from 66-118-151-30.static.sagonet.net[66.118.151.30]


is zimbra still processing mail that should be dropped due to rbl block?

Last edited by meuchel; 05-22-2012 at 09:01 AM.. Reason: remove email address
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.