Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2011, 01:27 PM
Beginner Member
 
Posts: 1
Question Some strange spoofing?

Okay some strange email activity since yesterday. it seems we are getting some spoofed messages and the server is not blocking them.

As you will see below, the outside server is spoofing the helo request but apparently the zimbra server is not checking reverse DNS to verify it?

I am also assuming this got passed because it was from internal addresses to internal addresses?

Version 6.0.10_GA_2692.FOSS
Just something to understand the protected areas:

mail.domain.com is OUR email server domain

user@domain.com is the domain OUR users use

All unchanged ip addresses are the real addresses which the outside entity used.


Return-Path: 1571@public.qd.sd.cn
Received: from mail.domain.com (LHLO mail.domain.com) (our.mail.ip.address) by
mail.domain.com with LMTP; Mon, 11 Apr 2011 13:18:04 -0600 (MDT)
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mail.domain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 5218922CC01B;
Mon, 11 Apr 2011 13:18:04 -0600 (MDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at mail.domain.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: 1.393
X-Spam-Level: *
X-Spam-Status: No, score=1.393 tagged_above=-10 required=4
tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DNS_FROM_RFC_DSN=0.001, RDNS_NONE=0.793,
SORTED_RECIPS=2.499] autolearn=no
Received: from mail.domain.com ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mail.domain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id pJbTzPbywflH; Mon, 11 Apr 2011 13:18:03 -0600 (MDT)
Received: from [189.16.132.172] (unknown [189.16.132.172])
by mail.domain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 48BD622CC018;
Mon, 11 Apr 2011 13:17:58 -0600 (MDT)
Received: from 189.16.132.172(helo=domain.com)
by domain.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from )
id 1MMA6X-9494ot-5X
for <AUSERNAME1@domain.com>; Mon, 11 Apr 2011 16:17:43 -0300
From: <AUSERNAME1@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME2@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME3@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME4@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME5@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME6@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME7@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME8@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME9@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME10@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME11@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME12@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME13@domain.com>
To: <AUSERNAME1@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME2@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME3@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME4@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME5@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME6@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME7@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME8@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME9@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME10@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME11@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME12@domain.com>,
<AUSERNAME13@domain.com>
Subject: Newsletter Mon, 11 Apr 2011 16:17:43 -0300
Date: Mon, 11 Apr 2011 16:17:43 -0300
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="Windows-1252"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Message-ID: <4369943970.JY0P52TG600419@vxhfrgdoqp.qlumcorn.u a>


Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2011, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Posts: 58
Default

Bump - I'm having the exact same problem. I'm getting a ton of these emails through to my users.

Anyone have any idea how to block this?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.