Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2011, 08:16 PM
Member
 
Posts: 14
Default mail transport unavailable

hi,

Thanks for heping me....

I am getting an error says "mail transport unavailable", please help me resolve this issue.

regards,
R. Venugopal
Coimbatore. INDIA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2011, 03:31 AM
fyd fyd is offline
Elite Member
 
Posts: 373
Default

Hi Venugopal. Please provide more info on the problem. How you are trying to send, and more details from log file 'zimbra.log' while you face this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2011, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks, i will send u the log very soon

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2011, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by venugopalr View Post
Thanks, i will send u the log very soon

thanks
Mar 12 04:29:12 mail postfix/qmgr[4504]: B57F27580B0: to=<abcde1234@yahoo.com>, relay=none, delay=45258, delays=45250/8.7/0/0, dsn=4.3.0, status=deferred (mail transport unavailable)


please help me...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2011, 12:09 AM
fyd fyd is offline
Elite Member
 
Posts: 373
Default

You say that mail transport fails for a few while others work fine. We need to look at all deferred mails in queue.

Try this command, it will show details of mails in your queue. Get the ids from there and check logs to see if all of them are being sent to the same destination.
# su - zimbra
$ postqueue -p
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2011, 12:29 AM
fyd fyd is offline
Elite Member
 
Posts: 373
Default

And please update your forum profile with the ZCS version you are running. That helps.

I always keep track of the queue status with this command.
# su - zimbra
$ sudo ~/libexec/zmqstat

It gets the number of mails in each queue.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2011, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fyd View Post
You say that mail transport fails for a few while others work fine. We need to look at all deferred mails in queue.

Try this command, it will show details of mails in your queue. Get the ids from there and check logs to see if all of them are being sent to the same destination.
# su - zimbra
$ postqueue -p
hi,

i have checked using this command, it shows the destination to various mail ids, but all the destination mail ids are in yahoo domain. wat would be the problem....pls
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2011, 08:03 AM
fyd fyd is offline
Elite Member
 
Posts: 373
Default hmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by venugopalr View Post
hi,

i have checked using this command, it shows the destination to various mail ids, but all the destination mail ids are in yahoo domain. wat would be the problem....pls
Just see if any account on your server 'is' able to send successfully to yahoo. Yahoo can block you if attachment size or size of mail is large. Besides you should also check if you are in any blacklists. You may be blacklisted due to spamming or backscatter, which may be the reason for the block. Check with mxtoolbox

From what I understand they can also block you for sending bulk mails(large mails). Check that too. The frequency of sending out.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2011, 11:07 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 82
Default

Though if 'postqueue' work usually means postfix is running, but just to be sure try:
su - zimbra
zmcontrol status
Also test the following:
(1) Send email from one local account to another local account, does the email got delivered?
(2) Send email from an external account to a local account, does the email got delivered?
(3) Are all or partial out bound emails generating errors?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2011, 10:50 PM
Member
 
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fyd View Post
Just see if any account on your server 'is' able to send successfully to yahoo. Yahoo can block you if attachment size or size of mail is large. Besides you should also check if you are in any blacklists. You may be blacklisted due to spamming or backscatter, which may be the reason for the block. Check with mxtoolbox

From what I understand they can also block you for sending bulk mails(large mails). Check that too. The frequency of sending out.
hi.. thanks for reply.
i hv checked, our ip seems to be not in blacklist. today i have sent a mail to a yahoo id, it delivers and also i had god the reply also from them. i think earlier our staff has send those mails in bulk., will it be a problem....pls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.