Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 12:13 AM
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Default GMail and Yahoo Mark Email as Spam

Good day, I new here, hope I'm making the right way of posting my Problem...

Anyway, I have a problem with sending email to GMail and YahooMail, and probably others to.. If I send Email Via admin account of Zimbra, it won't go to SPAM, however if I use one of the accounts that I created, the Email would go directly to SPAM...here the full message

Code:
Delivered-To: rgpdeguma@gmail.com
Received: by 10.220.157.199 with SMTP id c7cs127633vcx;
        Thu, 24 Feb 2011 00:00:02 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.90.247.29 with SMTP id u29mr1508811agh.150.1298534402554;
        Thu, 24 Feb 2011 00:00:02 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <admin@fdamindanao.dyndns.org>
Received: from themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org ([119.92.247.181])
        by mx.google.com with ESMTP id w15si19606037anw.118.2011.02.24.00.00.00;
        Thu, 24 Feb 2011 00:00:01 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 119.92.247.181 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of admin@fdamindanao.dyndns.org) client-ip=119.92.247.181;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=neutral (google.com: 119.92.247.181 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of admin@fdamindanao.dyndns.org) smtp.mail=admin@fdamindanao.dyndns.org
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
	by themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org (Postfix) with ESMTP id D5DE11081E36
	for <rgpdeguma@gmail.com>; Thu, 24 Feb 2011 15:59:58 +0800 (PHT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at fdamindanao.dyndns.org
Received: from themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org ([127.0.0.1])
	by localhost (themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
	with ESMTP id o5j+G95aLBj5 for <rgpdeguma@gmail.com>;
	Thu, 24 Feb 2011 15:59:58 +0800 (PHT)
Received: from themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org (TheMail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org [172.16.1.3])
	by themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org (Postfix) with ESMTP id 49BF71081E34
	for <rgpdeguma@gmail.com>; Thu, 24 Feb 2011 15:59:58 +0800 (PHT)
Date: Thu, 24 Feb 2011 15:59:58 +0800 (PHT)
From: admin@fdamindanao.dyndns.org
To: rgpdeguma@gmail.com
Subject: tesgffjmfjmfhkj
Message-ID: <b23925e2-dad3-4d0f-bcec-4007e5131c62@TheMail>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Originating-IP: [192.168.1.164]
X-Mailer: Zimbra 7.0.0_GA_3077 (ZimbraWebClient - FF3.0 (Win)/7.0.0_GA_3077)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 01:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 222
Default

My best guess (and I am pretty sure about it) is that reason for delivering your mail in SPAM folder is wrong reverse lookup pointer of your public IP, on which your mail server is residing:

181.247.92.119.in-addr.arpa. PTR 86400 119.92.247.181.static.pldt.net.

It should reverse lookup into themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org, but instead it resolves to 119.92.247.181.static.pldt.net, which is why your mail is placed in SPAM folder.

Solution:
Since you are on dynamic IP range, you have no option to resolve it. Best is to get static IP and then ask your ISP provider to add revrse PTR pointer, which would be exactly the same as forward A pointer of your domain name is.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 03:13 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Labsy View Post
Solution:
Since you are on dynamic IP range, you have no option to resolve it.
Relay through another server?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 04:46 PM
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Default

Yes, we do have a Static IP... What should we tell to our ISP?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 11:45 PM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmx_ryan View Post
Yes, we do have a Static IP... What should we tell to our ISP?
Tell them you want a reverse DNS for your IP.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2011, 06:44 PM
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Default

Hi, I have already a reverse PTR for our Domain...However, we do still have the problem... Our mails are still being sent to Spam folder...please help...thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2011, 12:03 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 82
Default

fdamindanao.dyndns.org doesn't seems to have a mx record. Try add a mx record for your email server.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:54 PM
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Siu View Post
fdamindanao.dyndns.org doesn't seems to have a mx record. Try add a mx record for your email server.
We have a dyndns.org domain name... and also we have a Split DNS set up...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2011, 09:29 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmx_ryan View Post
We have a dyndns.org domain name... and also we have a Split DNS set up...
You need a MX record for domain fdamindanao.dyndns.org pointing to themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org in your external/public dns setup.

In your public dns fdamindanao.dyndns.org config something like this:
Code:
@ MX 10 themail.fdamindanao.dyndns.org
You may not need the @ sign.

Also try adding a spf record too:
Code:
@    IN    TXT    "v=spf1 mx"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.