Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:35 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 39
Default Help with compromised server

I was notified by my ISP that my server was reported for spam and I need to correct the problem or face shutdown. Although I've worked with other MTA in the past, I'm a bit of a Zimbra newb, so I honestly am not sure how to begin tracking down the source of this problem.

I tested to make sure it's not an open relay. I only allow SSL/TLS connections. I checked my trusted networks. From what I gather, I suspect this is a coming from a compromised account, but being new to Zimbra I'm confused on how to read the logs.

I checked my daily mail report, but the top senders seems to include ALL senders, not just user accounts. For example, I took a few that were obvious spam senders and tried to egrep them in the logs, but it didn't give me any indication of which account had sent them. I had the COS set to allow sending from any address (which I've now disabled), so I assume the exploiter has taken advantage of this.

I've tried looking into the audit log, but nothing stands out, probably because I'm not entirely sure what to look for. I see the POP3 authentications, but I'm not entirely clear what to look for in relay authentications.

Can somebody please help me get going?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:48 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,315
Default

What exactly did your ISP tell you about the problem (any details)? Are you on any RBLs? Are you on a dynamic IP address? Does your daily mail report show any exceptionally large numbers of email sent by your users?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:57 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 39
Default

I'm trying to get better details from them (unfortunately I just have to wait for a ticket reply), they just said my server was reported for large volumes of spam. I've used several tests (ie, mxtoolbox.com) to check that it is not an open relay, and it is not on any RBLs that I can find. It's a static IP.

The daily mail report doesn't show numbers that I would consider exceptional, and certainly not from any particular user account. That's why I'm scratching my head a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2011, 09:04 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia View Post
I'm trying to get better details from them (unfortunately I just have to wait for a ticket reply), they just said my server was reported for large volumes of spam. I've used several tests (ie, mxtoolbox.com) to check that it is not an open relay, and it is not on any RBLs that I can find. It's a static IP.

The daily mail report doesn't show numbers that I would consider exceptional, and certainly not from any particular user account. That's why I'm scratching my head a bit.
Me too. Without any specific details it's hard to give you any useful advice. As a temporary measure you could relay your mail through another server (your ISP for example) until you get a reply from them about your current problem. Do you actually use any RBLs on your server?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2011, 09:10 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 39
Default

Yes:

dsn.rfc-ignorant.org
zen.spamhaus.org
dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
bl.spamcop.net

I don't know what else to check, I'm just going to wait for their response. I was just trying to be pro-active. Thanks for the replies.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2011, 06:38 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,209
Default

You are right that until you know the reason for the server being reported as a spam source it is hard to do anything about it!

We subscribe to a paid service called DNSStuff that checks a gazillion blacklists at one-time, and provides links to those blacklists' IP checkers. The subscription for their Professional tool set is good value and is especially helpful sorting out the difficult "User A didn't get User B's email-why?" questions, which are sometime DNS related instead of blacklist related.

But at the moment, I'd start with the major spam blockers and run your server's IP address through their checkers. Their checkers will tell you if you are being blacklisted and if so, why.

Here are a few:
http://www.spamhaus.org/lookup.lasso
AT&T
AOL Postmaster | Postmaster

Abuse.net also runs an open relay test here:
Mail relay testing

Hope that helps,
Mark
__________________
___________________________________
L. Mark Stone, CIO


"Uptime. All the time."

477 Congress Street | Portland, ME 04101-3431 | (207) 772-5678

proactive maintenance and monitoring | technology consulting
Zimbra groupware | EMR implementations | private cloud hosting
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.