Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2010, 01:13 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default Gmail marks zimbra mails as SPAM

Hi,

I built a new zimbra server.
The zimbra server is behind the firewall with NAT, and use a split-DNS server.
When testing I found Gmail marks all the mails from my Zimbra Server as Spam.
I added the SPF record to the DNS server (outside DNS server not split-DNS server) ,but didn't work.

Where is the problem?
Thank you!

Here is the original message sample.

Delivered-To: name000123@gmail.com
Received: by 10.231.31.197 with SMTP id z5cs116495ibc;
Mon, 6 Dec 2010 00:37:38 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.142.171.11 with SMTP id t11mr4732476wfe.15.1291624657736;
Mon, 06 Dec 2010 00:37:37 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <admin@sub.newcon.jp>
Received: from mail.sub.newcon.jp (61.206.123.149.static.zoot.jp [61.206.123.149])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id f5si10916030wfo.85.2010.12.06.00.37.36;
Mon, 06 Dec 2010 00:37:37 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of admin@sub.newcon.jp designates 61.206.123.149 as permitted sender) client-ip=61.206.123.149;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of admin@sub.newcon.jp designates 61.206.123.149 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=admin@sub.newcon.jp
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by mail.sub.newcon.jp (Postfix) with ESMTP id 5469F3268274
for <name000123@gmail.com>; Mon, 6 Dec 2010 17:37:36 +0900 (JST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at sub.newcon.jp
Received: from mail.sub.newcon.jp ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mail.sub.newcon.jp [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id 6p3JF+gcVEBn for <name000123@gmail.com>;
Mon, 6 Dec 2010 17:37:22 +0900 (JST)
Received: from mail.sub.newcon.jp (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by mail.sub.newcon.jp (Postfix) with ESMTP id 3AA1F3268273
for <name000123@gmail.com>; Mon, 6 Dec 2010 17:37:22 +0900 (JST)
Date: Mon, 6 Dec 2010 17:37:22 +0900 (JST)
From: admin@sub.newcon.jp
To: name000123@gmail.com
Message-ID: <2124774.4.1291624642156.JavaMail.root@mail.sub.ne wcon.jp>
Subject: ll
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Originating-IP: [210.197.157.143]
X-Mailer: Zimbra 6.0.9_GA_2686 (ZimbraWebClient - FF3.0 (Win)/6.0.9_GA_2686)

test mail
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2010, 03:22 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by higeon View Post
I built a new zimbra server.
The zimbra server is behind the firewall with NAT, and use a split-DNS server.
When testing I found Gmail marks all the mails from my Zimbra Server as Spam.
I added the SPF record to the DNS server (outside DNS server not split-DNS server) ,but didn't work.

Where is the problem?
There's nothing in that email that tells you why google has marked it as spam. You could start with the fact that your reverse DNS isn't correct and that you also have the following in your headers:

Code:
X-Originating-IP: [210.197.157.143]
Either of those two things might be causing the problem.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2010, 05:04 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default

the IP address of X-Originating-IP: [210.197.157.143] is my client IP, I sent mail by webmail. It seems that the X-Originating-IP is not the reason of this problem because I disabled it in the Admin UI and restart zimbra but nothing changed.

Is there any other way to resolve Gmail SPAM problem if it is impossible to set reverse DNS with my ISP?
I have another zimbra server without correct reverse DNS but has no any problem with Gmail.

Last edited by higeon; 12-06-2010 at 05:29 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:28 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 38
Default

Use a DKIM Filter.

That should help
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2010, 05:16 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default

But Zimbra seems not support DKIM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2010, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 198
Default

is RDNS for your mailserver IP is correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.