Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Backing Up Zimbra Open-Source (again:) )

Jools is offline Junior Member

Default Backing Up Zimbra Open-Source (again:) )

Hiya,

I have been running Zimbra open-source version in a trial for 4 months and it is, basically, the biz but I have the following problems:

1) The school I work at can get exchange cals for 5 pounds (about $7.50) via a local authority bulk purchase scheme and we can't afford that so the network edition is way out of our league.

2) I've tried, on many occasions to back up the OSS edition but have had no success. I've search with Google and read and followed the WIKI backup example, made sure that I had the same version and built a second PC, installed the same OS version etc.

I backed up the original zimbra folder onto CD using tar and preserved permissions etc. in the process, but it always seems to keel over, sometimes complaining about LDAP problems and at others just dropping out after the first service starts.

I really do want to go with Zimbra as it's been so reliable so far and I don't miss restarting the exchange box everytime it dies

Any help with detailed procedures would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Jools

reza225 is offline Advanced Member

have you tried to use dump to backup your filesystems? It should be able to work on live filesystems. I know it definetly works on live filesystems in BSD, have yet to try it in RHEL though.

jholder is offline Former Zimbran

Buy the Network Edition if backup is that important.
    Last edited by jholder; 09-07-2006 at 08:26 PM.

andreychek is offline Special Member & Volunteer

Quote Originally Posted by Jools
    I backed up the original zimbra folder onto CD using tar and preserved permissions etc. in the process, but it always seems to keel over, sometimes complaining about LDAP problems and at others just dropping out after the first service starts.
    Howdy,

Can you describe the exact process you're using to backup things?